Author Topic: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!  (Read 3267787 times)

0 Members and 3 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Drew Pearce

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1770 on: July 20, 2013, 05:50:09 AM »
Hi All,

My name is Drew, from Sydney Australia.

I have recently completed my home-built 3 Axis CNC router, and trialling Mach3.
So far, so good (but do have a few questions !)

The table has a cutting area of 8' x 4' x 8"
X - 2x ball screws 2505 with direct drive 1200 Oz.in, on dia 25 linear bearing rails
Y - 1x ball screws 1605 with 15/44 belt drive 640 Oz.in (planning on changing to direct drive 1200 Oz.in Motor), on dia 20 linear bearing rails
Z - 1x ball screws 1605 with 15/44 belt drive 640 Oz.in, on dia 20 linear bearing rails

Only had the machine running for a month, and already got a list of projects for it.

See you Around !

Drew

Offline kjam

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1771 on: July 21, 2013, 12:41:23 PM »
Hi, My name is Kelly, I'm from Mississippi. I just got into cnc work, and I have two mills. One is a lagun ftv-2 the other is a BP series 1 R2E4. The BP is the mill that I am going to retrofit first. Mache Motion has a kit  with a few extras for a descent price. If anyone has any better ideas on this let me know.

Offline Woodworm

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1772 on: July 21, 2013, 06:05:57 PM »
John Murphy from Guelph Ontario Canada. I have a custom CNC shop in the city. I cut wood, plastics, foams, composites and non ferrous metals.

I run an AXYZ 5010 router, and I also have a small Chinese laser that I use for odd jobs. The original circuit board gave out(as they do) so I am retrofitting the machine with one of Chriscircuits replacement boards(Can't say enough positive about Chris. Great product, excellent support) The retrofit is what brought me to Mach3. So far I'm impressed with the product, service and forum support. I still have to find away to due raster engraving using Mach3.

I host a meeting of CNC users here in Guelph, usually once a year. It is an informal gathering, but very informative. We have some great presenters coming, and we're looking forward to seeing new ideas. There is no real cost to attend. I ask that the attendees cover the cost of the meal at the end of the day. Bring a chair as well.

This years meeting is going to be held on August 10,2013. If you are interested in attending, send me an e-mail at the shop john@jmurphycnc.ca

Offline mpr455

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1773 on: July 22, 2013, 07:02:59 PM »
hello, I've been researching doing a control retrofit on a dynamite 2800 cnc mill. what is required? what is to be disabled or removed from original control. the machine has the factory control on it and has been problematic. how easy or difficult is this retrofit and will it cost $$$ I'am looking forward to hearing what some of you guy's who have done this job before and point me in the right direction.

Offline martinr

  • Holding
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1774 on: July 23, 2013, 04:16:18 PM »
hello my name is martin im new to this cnc lark so bear with me  :) I may post some daft questions
cheers martin.

Offline Timbone

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1775 on: July 23, 2013, 05:44:13 PM »
 :-\   Need help I had been using Mach3 with parallel port stepper controller. I recently upgraded to a Kflop with Kstep controler. I have it tuned and  running satisfactorily, but am unable to communicate to limit/homing switches. I am able to do so external to Mach3 with a modified C program run from Kflop/Kstep. The diagnostic page in Mach3 acknowledges limit/home switch via  LEDs when the switches are pressed. Switches are connected to pins 9,10,and 11 of Kstep J33 which activates IOs 4,5,and 6 respectively on port1. Again, this is verified on diagnostic page when switches activated.

I have tried the supplied HomeMach3Kstep.C file with IOs 3,4,5 configured in. I have done this pasted into the Mach plugin ini file and alternately as the home reference file on the Mach plugin configuration page. It is this file that will home successfully under only C and only if I set all flags to 2. Doing so with run and compile will home X,Y, and Z in successive sequence. I assume I am missing some parameter or parameters. I was told it should simply be a matter of pasting files. But it is not quite that simple.

Any help will be appreciated and passed on.

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,433
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1776 on: July 23, 2013, 06:37:57 PM »
Hello Tim, I know you have been a member for a few months but welcome all the same. Your question would get a lot more views if you post in our General Mach Discussion board in a topic of its own.

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline Timbone

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1777 on: July 23, 2013, 09:55:34 PM »
OK, Thanks

Offline needmoretools

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1778 on: July 27, 2013, 01:28:39 PM »
Hello Everyone. My name is George Merzbacher
I built my own cnc router table and am currently trying to get the mach 3 to talk to my VFD for my spindle.  I have no experince with CNC but just one day i was searching the web and came across a build it yourself cnc.  started doing research and after a time i started building.  My table is built and all steppers are working and moving all axis.  Its cool to see it finally start doing something.  I built a rather large table big enough to lay full size sheets of ply.  I have limited computer experience.  I built this just to see if i could do it.  Now i want to cut out all sorts of things but have no idea how to make this run.  I think i have the spindle configured corectly but cnat figure out how to try it out to be able to check my voltage at my breakout board. I get 0 volts and when i toggle in Diagnostics I get 10.20 Volts but how can i check it like at half RPM to see if im getting 5 volts?  I know this is an introduction page.  I just dont know where to post to get my answer as im very new to this forum or any forum that is.  Any help would be great.  thanks

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1779 on: July 27, 2013, 01:58:20 PM »
Hi George - welcome.

Just post your question in General Mach Discussion and I'm sure someone will be along to help pretty soon.

Ian