Author Topic: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!  (Read 3267468 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline woodcraftdesigns

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1860 on: January 21, 2014, 08:41:54 AM »
Hi,

I'm new to this site, had my cnc router for just under a year now, having wanting one of my own for a number of years.
Since having it I have got into cutting cardboard using the donek drag knife, very good it is to. which brings me on to why I joined, I want to try and add an inkjet print head to the cnc and wanted to see if Mach3 would be able to operate it?? has anyone done or seen one??

Thank you

Dan

Offline Kenneth

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 279
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1861 on: January 22, 2014, 08:32:43 AM »
Hi all,
I'm Kenneth, a machinist in louisiana U.S.A. and have been
using cnc for about 4 years. after mach4 comes out, how long
before support for mach3 last ?
Kenneth

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,646
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1862 on: January 22, 2014, 10:18:36 AM »
Hi Kenneth,

An impossible question to answer but I suspect the forum support will last both your and my lifetimes.  ;)

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline andyboy66

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! <<< and a Feed Rate Over Ride question >>>
« Reply #1863 on: January 29, 2014, 05:35:41 AM »
Hi
Another newbie here. . .   just taking my 1st steps into CNC with a small desktop mill. I have my first question I hope someone can help me with.

I have the machine set up, running under jog control, and soft limits set.

I have a problem with the Feed Rate Over Ride preventing the machine from feeding at the set federate.

The g-code has a federate of 300mm/min. The program runs fine when not attached to the machine. But when ever the machine is attached to the PC I get the red LED for Feed Rate Over Ride come on and it down regulates the feed so something ridiculously low. If I click reset it jumps up momentarily but then gets overridden. It does the same even if there’s no toolpath loaded – as soon as it’s connected to the PC.

I can’t find anyway to turn off the feed rate override.  (It’s a demo / trial version of Mach 3 currently while  I learn my way around).

Any suggestions where I go look for settings that may cause this please?

Andy

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,646
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1864 on: January 29, 2014, 05:47:18 AM »
Hi Andy, welcome to the forum.

If you post your question as a new topic in the General Mach Discussion section it is more likely to get a response offering suggestions which will resolve your problem.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Crosetti

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1865 on: February 02, 2014, 03:05:55 PM »
Hello all,
I'm John Crosetti & I work for a party rental company. We do everything from small back yard parties to nation wide events. I draw the cad drawings for events & I'm the graphics guy here.... now I guess I'm going to be the cnc guy & I can see I've have a lot to learn.
So about  2 months ago my boss bought a cnc router after seeing what it could do.
I'm completely new to the cnc world, but from what see in my short time here, I think I'm going to love this world!

Cheers!

Offline Jim Blackwood

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1866 on: February 04, 2014, 09:13:24 PM »
Can I use Mach to control Parker Compumotor ZX610 servo drivers and servos? I have a Moog 83-1000 retrofitted with the Parkers on x and y, have been running in terminal mode using Parker's Xware. I'm a prototype developer in Florence, KY.

Jim

Offline TXJM

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1867 on: February 05, 2014, 10:32:55 PM »
Hi,
I am Chip Miles.  I am definitely a beginner in the cnc world.  I have a little plc and hmi experience.  I have a Syil X4 and a D&M 4s.  I am getting up to speed on using the X4 and I am updating the old 4s(sherline with a cool enclosure).  I am in the process of learning how to configure Mach 3 and how steppers work at the same time.
Chip
« Last Edit: February 05, 2014, 10:37:31 PM by TXJM »

Offline kevinhenderson

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1868 on: February 09, 2014, 06:50:34 PM »
Hi All

Iam new her and new to cnc machining look forward to getting help and advice from everyone

Kevin

Offline wtwaggoner

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
Re: New people welcome !! Come in here and introduce your self!
« Reply #1869 on: February 11, 2014, 11:32:25 AM »
My name is Tom. I recently bought a Velox CNC machine. I have it all set up but have no idea what I am doing when it comes to Mach3. I am sure it will take some time to learn it,. but I don't even know where to start. :(