Author Topic: LazyTurn  (Read 974963 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #660 on: December 31, 2008, 09:01:10 PM »
I'm new at this too, so please bear with me.
When make a drawing with your CAD program you typically SAVE it somewhere as a .DXF file.
Maybe "Pawn.DXF" or similar.
Now when you reply, attach that file.
What cad are you using ?

Offline aclausing

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #661 on: December 31, 2008, 09:02:19 PM »
RC
Is this what you want.. Hopefully?    Thanks, Hank S.

Offline aclausing

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #662 on: December 31, 2008, 09:14:26 PM »
RC
I just thought of something,When I go to Touch-up the DWG I wonder if I should reset the layer value before posting the dxf again to LT. Maybe thats what is giving me troubles....  Thanks,   Hank S.

Offline Chip

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,057
  • Gainesville Florida USA
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #663 on: December 31, 2008, 09:18:10 PM »
Hi Hank

Got your file to load looking at it now, Ill post the proper format so RC can look at it. and explane the .dxf stuff in a bit.

Chip
« Last Edit: December 31, 2008, 09:19:59 PM by Chip »

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #664 on: December 31, 2008, 09:38:18 PM »
Hi Hank,
   Thats enough to work with for now. There are several issues...see pics
I'll be back...or Chip might chime in and save us.
RC

Offline aclausing

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #665 on: December 31, 2008, 09:46:11 PM »
Well that by all means is not right, Where did you find them,such as where in the dwg are they at,so I can see what is happening,and try to fix on my end, if there are more then many other issues,I'd like to contact apperson and tell him about his program,and what HE needs to fix,Afterall I did Pay for the software CAD STD PRO,and if it does'nt do the job, lets get it fixed; would'nt you agree.  Thanks,   Hank S.

Offline Chip

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,057
  • Gainesville Florida USA
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #666 on: December 31, 2008, 10:11:06 PM »
Hi Hank

Hear are some of the bad spot's marked and a dxf with them in it.

Chip

Offline aclausing

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 98
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #667 on: December 31, 2008, 10:23:27 PM »
Chip,
Thanks for the heads up,thoughs are all the intersecting lines that are drawn by arc cord,and each has been curved by me by means of using the mouse to create the arc. HUH..I'll see if I can find a better way of doing the dwg's,and mybe stop all the headaches I'm having,I'm still going to contact apperson about his program though,and thanks so much. Do you know of anything i can do to try to correct this as I don't know where to begin. Hey; Lets see if Art can make a dxf'er for LT and the rest of the Mach Series, Mach will only read, Mach's dxf'er. HA! COLD DAY in !!    Thanks,   Hank S.

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #668 on: December 31, 2008, 10:53:52 PM »
Hank,
  Do you use the SNAPS when drawing ?
That really helps keep the ends together.
Even after cleaning you file up, it still has problems in LT.
Looks like the connection tolerances are tight in LT.
Neat CAD you have there....inexpensive too.
Thanks,
RC

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #669 on: December 31, 2008, 11:13:50 PM »
Hey Hank,
  The most of the problem was at the base of the piece.
After putting the extension for the chuck or collet, it posts good.
Try this DXF.
RC