Author Topic: LazyTurn  (Read 974122 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #170 on: August 02, 2008, 10:45:19 PM »

Offline Perfo

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #171 on: August 02, 2008, 10:55:23 PM »
Some nice pieces there thanks. Not having done many DXF to Gcode conversions (read this as none)  how would you know by downloading a DXF if your 3 axis mill will be able to make it once Mach 3 has got hold of the DXF and converted it? The Knight looks a little tricky with 3 axis.
« Last Edit: August 02, 2008, 10:57:34 PM by Perfo »

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #172 on: August 03, 2008, 03:34:13 AM »
The knight would have to be 4 axis, either that or do one side and then flip and do the other.
Hood

Offline Perfo

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #173 on: August 03, 2008, 07:06:57 PM »
Do you use lazyturn on a mill as well or only on Lathes ? I can see me wanting to put another axis on once I get going to do this kind of thing. Learn to walk before running I must constantly remind myself of that :)

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,432
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #174 on: August 03, 2008, 07:55:54 PM »
Lazy turn is for turning and Lazycam is for millig, plasma, router, waterjet, ect.

Brett.

;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #175 on: August 04, 2008, 05:47:44 AM »
But if you add a 4th axis to the mill and use it as a spindle, mount a lathe tool in a clamp in the Z Axis and use it as an X axis and use the X axis as a Z axis then you would use MachTurn and LazyTurn :D

Hood

Offline Perfo

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #176 on: August 04, 2008, 08:47:04 PM »
Nice. If you can understand it :)

Offline jhowelb

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #177 on: August 05, 2008, 01:46:22 PM »

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #178 on: August 05, 2008, 02:00:20 PM »
Nice. If you can understand it :)

one picture = 1000 words!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wbfXXeiSHsw

Not exactly what I was meaning but yes that is another way to do it :)

Hood

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #179 on: August 05, 2008, 02:03:38 PM »


This was more like what I was meaning except instead of mounting the lathe on the mill it would just be your 4th axis.

http://tormach.com/Product_PCNC_lathe.html

Hood