Author Topic: LazyTurn  (Read 974415 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1270 on: February 19, 2010, 10:38:49 AM »
Hi ART..Looking great.  :)
This is 2 roughs, 1each direction..and 2 fines, 1 each direction with the same tool, different depth settings.
All is as expected.......except....the only thing missed is the fine cuts at Z 0 end.
?
Thanks,
Russ

Actually, the last fin pass followed the profile, the first 3 are "out there".  (pic 2)
Matters not which direction the fin is run...same result. All else is great !
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 10:43:10 AM by Overloaded »

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1271 on: February 19, 2010, 10:57:45 AM »
Hi:

 Thx, good point. The secondary finish passes are being clipped to the same Y as the next point, that doesnt seem to work. I'll have to make a line
intersection and do it with intersection code instead. Good bug find..

Art

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1272 on: February 19, 2010, 11:02:05 AM »
..couple more examples. Radiussed ends look OK.
Chamferred ends, some go to X 0, and some dont.

Offline budman68

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,360
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1273 on: February 19, 2010, 02:40:20 PM »
Hi Art,

Thanks for the update and I'm looking at it now. One quick thing, when running the "SIM" of the finish pass, it seems to run the last pass (the final pass) first?

When I blow up the view, I can see when running the sim, that the cutter is closest to the part on the first pass, and then moves away from the part to the second before that last pass, and so on. We're not able to post code yet so I couldn't check to see if it really was doing that, and thought I should mention it.

Hope that makes sense, and if it's not an issue, just ignore me..  ;D

Thanks,
Dave
----------------------------------------------------------------------
Just because I'm a Global Moderator, don't assume that I know anything !

Dave->    ;)

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,300
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1274 on: February 19, 2010, 04:19:14 PM »
Looking good Art,
As usual some reading material......need to play with some more files though
RICH

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,300
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1275 on: February 19, 2010, 04:40:46 PM »
ART,
This set of conditions will make LT close / bomb!
See attached.

BTW, I think you knew i would try this file and it's all a set up and your laughing you ask off.... ;D
RICH

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1276 on: February 19, 2010, 08:11:04 PM »
Ill give it a shot and let you know why. : )

Art

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1277 on: February 19, 2010, 08:47:57 PM »
Hi guys,
  Rich, from A18, your first two pics.
The tool tip radius is too large and/or the stock is not big enough at the large ball.
The remaining material there is not => the depth of the cut.
The tool path displayed represents the radius point of the tool tip (.016) which is why it shows so far from the profile with a Clearance set at .001
Either increase the stock dia., or reduce the tip radius and it does much better.

Here is the same file (I think) with a tip rad. of .005    Other settings are the same as yours.
I think this is what we saw some time back.
Please correct me if I'm wrong.........I'm used to it. :D
Russ ;D

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,300
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1278 on: February 19, 2010, 10:16:38 PM »
Russ,
See attached, i may be confused.......the tool will follow the path line and when it does it will cut some of that material.
dosen't matter if it is a rapid back or at feed rate. I would need to simulate again to see the direction of travel.
Placement of the tool is based on the center of the tool tip radius and i just spotted another in green outline. When i zoomed way out the dims were ok, just that the display didn't seem right.

Yep, i can get it to do the piece, change tools or rough / finish combinations that would work nicely. Your comment on enlarging the stock or reducing the tip radius is understood and used here.       BUT
Rather than just using tools that make sense, I just try to break it / find faults  and not necessarily make it work.........at times....... if that makes any sense.

I wish we had a hundred folks like us in here as there are so many combinations to try. Intuitively we seem to find bads.  

I didn't go back and check ART's definiton on the placement so i could be goofed up.

Rich

MODIFIED: ADDED CAPTURE OF THE SIMULATION OF THE TOOL
« Last Edit: February 19, 2010, 11:06:54 PM by RICH »

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #1279 on: February 20, 2010, 12:06:20 AM »
I think we may need one more rule here, maybe code it in.
RULE: Pullout Clearance for selected Rough Pass must be => the Radius of the selected Tool Tip.
That would correct this problem if one was to ignore the First Pass rule below.
  First scan line must continue the complete length of the profile.
I know you're just trying to break it Rich.....lol
I just tend to take a more practical approach.
Looking pretty good so far though.
Russ

edit:
Actually 3 things that will make this work:
1. Reduce tip rad...or                                  (.006")
2. Increase stock dia for full SLD first pas..or   (.005")   in this case
3. Increase the Pullout Clearance.                 (.006")
« Last Edit: February 20, 2010, 12:31:15 AM by Overloaded »