Author Topic: LazyTurn  (Read 974468 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jhowelb

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #180 on: August 05, 2008, 07:02:05 PM »
Somewhere on CNCZone (can't find it now), some guy mounted a small wood lathe on the bed. Changed for metalworking chuck and held cutting tool on the spindle. Reconfigure new Mach profile to use spindle as Y axis and X table movement as Z axis then use lathe g code

Off topic but nothing else happening here.

Offline Perfo

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #181 on: August 05, 2008, 08:07:57 PM »
Some nice work on both those links. Its interesting to see the different tools on the mill bed and thus no need for a tool changer. I suppose when most think of a 4th axis on a small mill they are thinking of indexing heads (at least I was) but no reason why you couldn't use it to turn if the motors are big enough and are geared to get enough speed.

Offline stcnc

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #182 on: August 05, 2008, 08:16:02 PM »
Waiting for Lasy Turn too! I made a lathe2mill 4th Axis setup for my X2 can be seen at:
http://www.cad2gcode.com/cncprojects

Offline Perfo

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #183 on: August 05, 2008, 09:34:10 PM »
Nice work.

Offline DennisF

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 392
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #184 on: September 10, 2008, 11:30:00 AM »
Hi Art & guy's it's been pretty quite anything going on? still waiting.

Dennis

Offline Kerry Harrison

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 53
    • View Profile
    • Kerry Harrison
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #185 on: September 26, 2008, 11:55:49 PM »
Greetings,

Just found this discussion in my search for Lathe CAM software.  I downloaded the LazyTurn file at the begining of this discussion but the program crashes everytime I try to open a dxf.

Does LazyTurn work?
Is there documentation anywhere for it?
It seems like folks are waiting for something on discussion. Could it be an updated version of LazyTurn?

Please advise.

Thanks much,
Kerry Harrison

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #186 on: September 27, 2008, 01:32:54 AM »
Kerry ,
Read through tis topic.....ART's post's in particular.
http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,8479.0.html
RC

Offline Vince Endter

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #187 on: October 05, 2008, 11:36:21 AM »
I am trying to made a profile for Lazyturn.  I thought I read somewhere it had to be drawn in the XZ plane.  I am using AutoCAD 2000.  Does anyone know how to change AutoCAD so it is drawing in the XZ plane?

Thanks

Vince

Offline RICH

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,300
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #188 on: October 05, 2008, 03:22:39 PM »
Vince,
No, you don't need to draw in the XZ plane.

I do not think you can change the axis definitions in Autocad or Microstation such that Z equals the X axis or for that matter Y equals the X axis when drawing. My CAD experts at work only laughed at me when i asked them to do a modificatioin to the dxf conversion tables so i could convert it that way. Looked at the 2" thick manual and gave up! I let that brainy idea die.

Just draw as normal the lathe programs will do the rest.

Lazyturn is not ready for use, use Lazcam Turn, and be ready to invest some time for learning it.
RICH


Offline cliveastro

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 71
    • View Profile
Re: LazyTurn
« Reply #189 on: October 06, 2008, 03:29:39 PM »
Hi Art
I feel a bit of dunce but I cant get the files to open.
If I run the Lazy turn exe file and load the dxf files I get An open GL error.
And if I run it inside lazycam there is nothing on the screen.
To be fair I have never manged to run anything in lazy cam.
I have used d2nc succesfully and I have been using Autocad for 20+ years and can use Solidworks.

Clive