Author Topic: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions  (Read 851502 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,251
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #910 on: December 12, 2015, 03:09:11 PM »
the plug in setting are the master settings, you map those signals to M4 in M4 you don't do anything to active high or low tick you leave that alone it will stuff it up, all you do is mappin enabled tick, device and input name or output name and don't touch active

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #911 on: December 12, 2015, 05:10:45 PM »
Or..set active high. If unset the system assumes high it seems..

Art

Offline marktaft

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Sieg x3 cnc convertion
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #912 on: December 13, 2015, 05:17:33 AM »

Hi Art,

unfortunately I cannot test my motors with Darwin's jog control , as my controller needs both the charge pump and enable set, to run.

will check out the other points you mention in the last email to see if there are any negated inputs.

Not sure what else I can do.

Kind regards

Mark

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #913 on: December 13, 2015, 07:22:14 AM »
Mark:

    You can actually turn on the charge pump from Darwin, so perhaps the first thing to do is that.
Turn on the charge pump and set its frequency to 12.5khz.. You should then see the board is alive,
then turn on the enable, if its level is set right, you should then be able to jog..

Art

Offline marktaft

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Sieg x3 cnc convertion
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #914 on: December 14, 2015, 04:02:58 PM »
Hi Art,


Thanks again for all your help and patience things are looking a lot better.

I have now managed to get the charge pump and the enable line running.

And the motors are jogging in Darwin and Mach4.
However, some other setting is wrong as when I jog about 20 mm in Mach4 , The motor only moves 1 tick , a tiny amount.

Have checked the motor set-up in mach4 ,and this is set the same as my mach3 setting which work ok.

Its as if there is some other setting, which is overriding the steps per mm.

Any Ideas ?

Kind Regards

Mark

 

Offline Steve Stallings

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
    • PMDX
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #915 on: December 14, 2015, 04:56:39 PM »
This sounds like a classic setup issue with the direction signal driving the step input and vice versa.

Every other time the direction changes the motor will take one step.

Check your wiring and/or Mach4 setup.

Steve Stallings
PMDX
Steve Stallings
www.PMDX.com
For PMDX product support, please use PMDX forum or direct email for quickest response. We do not use this forum as our primary product support site.

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #916 on: December 14, 2015, 08:39:05 PM »
I agree with Steve, its probably the step and DIR being mixed, Id also check that your not
setting units/sec when it wants units per minute...

Art

Offline marktaft

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Sieg x3 cnc convertion
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #917 on: December 15, 2015, 04:21:48 AM »
Hi Art, Steve,

I have already checked the step and direction pins, will check again.

Which parameter are you referring to units/sec per min, are you meaning the velocity setting on the motor screen?

Or the feed mode in the mach4 setup screen ?

Also, reviewed your utube video again, you refer to noise either side of the signal line, did you see my picture posted earlier in the thread.

It has two very strong lines , is this ok?

Kind Regards

Mark

 

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #918 on: December 15, 2015, 07:20:23 AM »
Yes, your timing lines look fine. A lack of bilateral symmetry seems to indicate a sporadic device interrupt, but its not affecting you. Your
main line is red at zero and looks good. I think you should be OK. As to settings I was reffering to max velocity, just make sre its correct and not 60 times smaller than it needs to be..I cant recall how m4 sets it velocity off hand..minute or second

Art
 

Offline marktaft

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
    • Sieg x3 cnc convertion
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #919 on: December 15, 2015, 01:46:38 PM »
Sorry Art ,

 just done  a load more testing, its not working.

I tried altering the motor parameter settings, the only ones that seem to work at all are identical to my mach3 settings , which work on this same pc if i run it up.

787 steps 600 velocity and 10 acceleration

Tried swoping over step and direction, this did nothing the system was dead, so put them back.

Also noticed that toggling the negate step box in Darwin is causing the motor to do 1 step.

I also noticed that when using jog in Mach4 , the pulses are not very constant as if it is missing one occasionally.

Its almost as if the pulse signal is not strong enough and only triggers occasionally.

Best wishes

Mark