Author Topic: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions  (Read 853259 times)

0 Members and 2 Guests are viewing this topic.

Offline pbarratt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #620 on: November 17, 2014, 04:28:25 PM »
Art,

Darwin calculates the frequency for a toggling input.  This would seem like a great candidate for powering a spindle tach using an index pulse.  Is the frequency value available to Mach 4?

Peter

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #621 on: November 17, 2014, 05:10:46 PM »
Peter:

  It is, but theres nothing in Mach4 to accept it.  Perhaps when Docs are done Ill find a way to respond to a
script asking for such information, but like encoder data, theres no place to send it. Encoder data gets in by back door
of MPG usage. Similarly, output signals can all set a frequency out, but there no way to tell it to do so. We'll see what
capabilities grow over time on the M4 scipting side..

Art

Offline BR549

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 6,855
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #622 on: November 17, 2014, 06:34:34 PM »
(;-) TP

Offline Student

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #623 on: November 18, 2014, 12:35:29 PM »
Hi,

i have installed the released MACH4 and the Darwin Plugin (with licenses) and configured the system as described in the youtube video.
Jogging works fine...
But when I press the Homing Button, nothing happens!

This is the log after pressing the homing button:

2014-11-18 18:20:55.281 - API: mcAxisHomeAll() called.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.281 - Attempt transition from "Idle" on event "Home" Command.cpp:851
2014-11-18 18:20:55.281 - S_IDLE_on_exit
2014-11-18 18:20:55.281 - MACH_STATE_start_homing
2014-11-18 18:20:55.281 - S_HOMING_on_entry
2014-11-18 18:20:55.281 - Signal id 1131, (Z Homed), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.296 - Signal id 1129, (X Homed), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.312 - API: mcAxisHomeComplete() called. axis 2
2014-11-18 18:20:55.312 - Signal id 1131, (Z Homed), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.312 - All motors marked as still.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.312 - API: mcMotionSync() called.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.312 - SyncPosition()!
2014-11-18 18:20:55.406 - Signal id 1130, (Y Homed), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.421 - API: mcAxisHomeComplete() called. axis 0
2014-11-18 18:20:55.421 - Signal id 1129, (X Homed), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.421 - All motors marked as still.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.421 - API: mcMotionSync() called.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.421 - SyncPosition()!
2014-11-18 18:20:55.515 - Signal id 1132, (A Homed), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.531 - API: mcAxisHomeComplete() called. axis 1
2014-11-18 18:20:55.531 - Signal id 1130, (Y Homed), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.531 - All motors marked as still.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.531 - API: mcMotionSync() called.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.531 - SyncPosition()!
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - API: mcAxisHomeComplete() called. axis 3
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - Signal id 1132, (A Homed), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - Attempt transition from "Homing" on event "Stop Home" Command.cpp:954
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - S_HOMING_on_exit
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - MACH_STATE_stop_homing
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - SyncPosition()!
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - S_IDLE_on_entry
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - All motors marked as still.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - API: mcMotionSync() called.
2014-11-18 18:20:55.640 - SyncPosition()!


what goes wrong?
Does anybody have an idea?

Stefan

Offline pbarratt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 125
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #624 on: November 18, 2014, 12:42:44 PM »
Did you set the home signals on the Darwin motor setup pages?

Peter

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #625 on: November 18, 2014, 02:53:01 PM »
What does the messagelog show..the debug messages that show on the error line.. Darwin sends messages there..

Art

Offline Student

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #626 on: November 19, 2014, 02:57:55 AM »
i didn't get a message on the error line. And i have set the home singnals on the Darwin motor setup page. I have assigned each homing signal to the correspondig motor.
maybe I have to switch the logic level of the homing signals - i will check that...

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #627 on: November 19, 2014, 07:37:40 AM »
Hi:

  Make sure in Mach that the active low is not checked.. Check the Diags page to see that when you press a switch, the diags lights up for that home switch.
The led's shoudl eb off normally for the homes.

   In Darwin, you need to set the signal for each motor.

In Darwins diagnostics setup, turn on Debug mode, youll then get messages on the
error line telling you the steps, for example it may say "Home switch already pressed." ..ect...

Art

Offline Sage

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 365
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #628 on: November 19, 2014, 03:00:28 PM »
Hi Art:

I'm finally getting back to this. Everything installed and licensed fine for me. I have only one small problem.

I have the charge pump enabled on my PMDX132. When I first start M4 just as it starts up but before the control panel fully appears, the relays click on the PMDX which is an indication that the charge pump is activated but about 1 second later when the actual control panel appears the relays drop out. The DRO's change when you jog but no movement. I have to use the disable button and re-enable then the relays latch in again and jog is fine.
I guessing that the charge pump signal is not staying active. Do you think this is a Darwin issue or a M4 issue.
I'd have to get the scope out and trace the signal from the PC I guess. I haven't done that yet.

Sage

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #629 on: November 19, 2014, 03:26:21 PM »
Sage;

  It happens to me as well, near as I can tell its an m4 issue, but I wont claim that for sure till I troubleshoot it some more.
I always enable, disable then enable again to ensure it doesnt happen to me. Im deep in 4th axsi code at the moment, but Ill trace
that out shortly to make sure its not me.  It used to be an m4 issue, but now it may be a fix I made for the issue back when..

Thx
Art