Author Topic: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions  (Read 862227 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #290 on: August 13, 2014, 06:17:40 PM »
Patton:

 Just tested on mine, I can enter B's on pretty much any spot that should accept a B... what box were you unable to enter it into?

Art

Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,253
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #291 on: August 13, 2014, 06:19:59 PM »
everything is connected and set how you said to do it. I always do a restart when I make changes. M4 Darwin might just not like the superpid

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #292 on: August 13, 2014, 06:22:57 PM »
Hi Dan:

  The M3 , M4 and M5 macros I have seem to be turned off. SO they intercept the M3 and wont perform it. I too have to delete them
otherwise my M3 doesnt work. SO Id just delete them till you need a custom way for m3 to perform.

 Other than that, you shoudl be fine, the 50hz PWM is pretty exact. You enter 25 in the spindle outputs freq box in Darwin,
then set the PWM register in M4 to 1 . It should work fine then..

Art

Offline patton

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 92
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #293 on: August 13, 2014, 06:35:05 PM »
Ok I had tried to configure a hotkey in Mach4 ...took that out and it works fine. Thanks

Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,253
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #294 on: August 13, 2014, 06:39:44 PM »
done all of that still no speed change

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #295 on: August 13, 2014, 08:11:37 PM »
Lets try this.. Use the menu item Operator/Logging and turn n the log , then execute an M3S2500 and look to the log
generatoed. HEres what I get  as the spindle turns on.. you must delete all the macros for this to work..

2014-08-13 21:09:13.187 - API: mcCntlMdiExecute() called. (m3)
2014-08-13 21:09:13.296 - Attempt transition from "Idle" on event "MDI Start" Controller.cpp:1371
2014-08-13 21:09:13.296 - S_IDLE_on_exit
2014-08-13 21:09:13.296 - MACH_STATE_start_mdi
2014-08-13 21:09:13.296 - S_MDI_RUNNING_on_entry
2014-08-13 21:09:13.296 - S_MDI_RUNNING2_on_entry
2014-08-13 21:09:13.296 - Signal id 1114, (Gcode Running), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-13 21:09:13.312 - Signal id 1142, (Spindle Fwd), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-13 21:09:13.312 - Signal id 1141, (Spindle On), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-13 21:09:13.312 - Waiting 1.000000 seconds for spindle at speed... Spindle.cpp:328
2014-08-13 21:09:14.312 - Done. Spindle.cpp:331
2014-08-13 21:09:14.421 - Attempt transition from "MDI Running" on event "Stop" GcodeExec.cpp:724
2014-08-13 21:09:14.421 - S_MDI_RUNNING2_on_exit
2014-08-13 21:09:14.421 - Signal id 1114, (Gcode Running), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-08-13 21:09:14.421 - S_MDI_RUNNING_on_exit
2014-08-13 21:09:14.421 - MACH_STATE_stop
2014-08-13 21:09:14.421 - S_IDLE_on_entry

  What do you get thats different?

Art


Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,253
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #296 on: August 13, 2014, 09:26:45 PM »
This is what i am getting

M3 only

2014-08-14 12:19:07.250 - API: mcCntlMdiExecute() called. (m3)
2014-08-14 12:19:07.359 - Attempt transition from "Idle" on event "MDI Start" Controller.cpp:1371
2014-08-14 12:19:07.359 - S_IDLE_on_exit
2014-08-14 12:19:07.359 - MACH_STATE_start_mdi
2014-08-14 12:19:07.359 - S_MDI_RUNNING_on_entry
2014-08-14 12:19:07.359 - S_MDI_RUNNING2_on_entry
2014-08-14 12:19:07.359 - Signal id 1114, (Gcode Running), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-14 12:19:07.484 - Attempt transition from "MDI Running" on event "Stop" GcodeExec.cpp:724
2014-08-14 12:19:07.484 - S_MDI_RUNNING2_on_exit
2014-08-14 12:19:07.484 - Signal id 1114, (Gcode Running), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-08-14 12:19:07.484 - S_MDI_RUNNING_on_exit
2014-08-14 12:19:07.484 - MACH_STATE_stop
2014-08-14 12:19:07.484 - S_IDLE_on_entry

with M3 S5000

2014-08-14 12:21:30.453 - API: mcCntlMdiExecute() called. (m3s5000)
2014-08-14 12:21:30.562 - Attempt transition from "Idle" on event "MDI Start" Controller.cpp:1371
2014-08-14 12:21:30.562 - S_IDLE_on_exit
2014-08-14 12:21:30.562 - MACH_STATE_start_mdi
2014-08-14 12:21:30.562 - S_MDI_RUNNING_on_entry
2014-08-14 12:21:30.562 - S_MDI_RUNNING2_on_entry
2014-08-14 12:21:30.562 - Signal id 1114, (Gcode Running), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-14 12:21:30.578 - Signal id 1142, (Spindle Fwd), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-14 12:21:30.578 - Signal id 1141, (Spindle On), changed from LOW to HIGH.
2014-08-14 12:21:30.578 - Waiting 1.000000 seconds for spindle at speed... Spindle.cpp:328
2014-08-14 12:21:31.578 - Done. Spindle.cpp:331
2014-08-14 12:21:31.687 - Attempt transition from "MDI Running" on event "Stop" GcodeExec.cpp:724
2014-08-14 12:21:31.687 - S_MDI_RUNNING2_on_exit
2014-08-14 12:21:31.687 - Signal id 1114, (Gcode Running), changed from HIGH to LOW.
2014-08-14 12:21:31.687 - S_MDI_RUNNING_on_exit
2014-08-14 12:21:31.687 - MACH_STATE_stop
2014-08-14 12:21:31.687 - S_IDLE_on_entry

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,684
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #297 on: August 14, 2014, 01:58:13 AM »
Excellent work with the laser Art - that really looks the business  ;)

I am expecting to see pictures of "great works of art" to follow  ;D

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #298 on: August 14, 2014, 02:48:35 AM »
Hi Art
sorry to say I installed the latest  (1.12.a.1) and I still loose my settings . got to go to work now but will try a few things tonight and let you know
Bob

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #299 on: August 14, 2014, 06:57:24 AM »
Damn.. anyone else lose settings? So far mine are solid.

I will reversion on the next update to ensure upgrades take effect ..

Dan:

   Looks to me as if your calls are reaching the plugin, I will now add diags to the spindle calls
so we can figure out why yours is not changing pwm.. or show it is and its the superPID expecting
some other signal frequency..

Art