Author Topic: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions  (Read 851831 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #220 on: August 09, 2014, 08:38:28 AM »
Bob..et al:

  It not you, I too am getting crashes in the latest version of m4. When I turned it on today I had no jog buttons.
I found the motors were mapped, but not enabled. So I enabled them, and promptly crashed.

When I rebooted ( Mach wouldnt shut down..) I restarted the program and the axis were mapped but not enabled, so
I enabled x,y, and z.. and away they went. Jogging buttons appeared and all motion seemed to work.

 Something is performing badly. Hard to say what as yet, but at least you know it isnt you or your machine, if its happening here
it can happen anywhere. :)

Art

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #221 on: August 09, 2014, 08:44:37 AM »
When I just started Mach4, I get a warning:

"file \Machine.ini, line 2145: key SpindleMax was first found at line 1625"

When I click OK, I get another:

"entry "SpindleMax" appears more than once in Group "/Darwin".


I haven't touched any spindle settings since I installed last night, as I don't have a machine connected. Only 3 motors enabled in Darwin, and the three were assigned to X, Y, and Z in Mach4.

I went into Config:Mach, and saw that the motors were no longer enabled. When trying to enable them, I once again got the dreaded frozen Mach4, requiring yet another 5 minute reboot.

At this point, Mach4 crashes so frequently that it's not any fun even trying to do anything with it, as the crashes ALWAYS require a reboot. Looks like I'll wait a few more weeks and try again.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #222 on: August 09, 2014, 08:46:07 AM »
Hi Art I noticed once  after rebooting that the jog buttons had disapeared too.
I have restarted mach many times in the last 30 minutes and the PC a few times now and all is still OK
We will just have to wait and see.
Thanks see you later
Bob

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #223 on: August 09, 2014, 08:46:25 AM »
Looks like your getting the same thing I am, Art. That's encouraging. But the crashes are incredibly frustrating.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #224 on: August 09, 2014, 08:48:52 AM »
Hi Gerry  am going to try and find out how to close mach without a reboot.
But as everything is working now I dopnt want to play about with the settings .
bob

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #225 on: August 09, 2014, 09:21:28 AM »
Hi Gerry  am going to try and find out how to close mach without a reboot.

I don't think you can

Quote
But as everything is working now I dopnt want to play about with the settings .

AS Art mentioned, the problem is that the next time you turn off your PC, the settings can appear to change on their own, which results in another crash. That's what happened to both Art and I today.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #226 on: August 09, 2014, 10:16:44 AM »
Hi Guys:

  This version of Darwin may solve many of those issues, turns out one of my libraries was out of date. It could explain the
forgetfullness of the settings as well as some of the errors. MPG's are added in this version but I need to test them. Please
let me know if lockups or forgotten settings are seen with this version...

Thx
Art

Offline ART

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,691
  • Tough as soggy paper.
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #227 on: August 09, 2014, 10:34:09 AM »
Hi Guys:

  Ive been running and restarting for about an hour..

 Ive had no more forgetting of settings and it hasnt locked up on me either. I think I was hosing the system due to
an unknown responce to creating multiple registers with this version. This version seems to be working quite well so far.
For CPU speed, Mach4 doesnt register in the top 15 processes while jogging. Homing has been restest and all appears well.
I will create a new video on configuration , hopefully today..
Thx
Art
 

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #228 on: August 09, 2014, 10:45:34 AM »
Hi Art
I have deleted the old Darwin and loaded the new DLL and M4pw.
the first time I went to look at the settings of Darwin mach crashed needed a hard reboot.
since then I have restarted mach serveal time and all is OK I shall continue rebooting and restarting for the rest of the afternoon  (while watching Moto GP from Indianapolis )
and let you know what I find
Bob

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: Mach4 Printer Port Discussions
« Reply #229 on: August 09, 2014, 10:48:42 AM »
Hi Art
just lost all the motor enable settings in mach after a mach restart
Bob