Author Topic: Physical buttons for plasma  (Read 82991 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline BR549

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 6,855
    • View Profile
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #240 on: February 06, 2016, 12:55:24 PM »
Slow down teh G28.1 speed in Mach3 or lower the accel rate of Z. First I would change out teh feedscrew to a much courser feed. You are simply overspeeding the motor.


Offline BR549

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 6,855
    • View Profile
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #241 on: February 06, 2016, 12:59:59 PM »
I also noticed the second part cut better than the first part.

Offline Davek0974

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 2,408
    • View Profile
    • DD Metal Products
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #242 on: February 06, 2016, 01:11:40 PM »
I tried MarchantDice - they do the 10x4 screw but no nuts?
Have emailed another supplier, will find out monday hopefully.

In reality all 4 of the parts came out really well, when it screws these up it really screws them ;)
I used to send them out for laser cutting, but once i got the plasma working well, i found i could do them myself and trouser the profit :)
All it takes is a couple of minutes with a small file to clean them up, practically dross free, this is the 45A nozzle at 30A, 2400mm/min but is very material specific.

As for the Z speed, it really is odd that I can not make it do it manually -MDI or jogging, only when running G28.1, hopefully double the screw pitch will halve the speed so motor will only need to do 370rpm to get the same movement, 744rpm is pushing the envelope a bit i think.
Mach3 V062, CSMIO-IP/A controller, AC Servo Drives

Offline BR549

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 6,855
    • View Profile
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #243 on: February 06, 2016, 01:19:34 PM »
Ideally with a z stepper you try to get 1" of motion per 2-4 Turns of the stepper. At 2 turns you can normally outrun your THC at top speed and at 4 you should be well in the range of GOOD and not stall teh stepper

Offline Davek0974

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 2,408
    • View Profile
    • DD Metal Products
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #244 on: February 06, 2016, 01:23:07 PM »
Great, thats an upgrade on the cards for certain.

Thanks TP

What about the test cuts, any views?
Mach3 V062, CSMIO-IP/A controller, AC Servo Drives

Offline BR549

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 6,855
    • View Profile
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #245 on: February 06, 2016, 01:41:58 PM »
I will have to wait until I get back by the shop (;-) to cut them.

(;-) TP

Offline Davek0974

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 2,408
    • View Profile
    • DD Metal Products
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #246 on: February 06, 2016, 01:52:04 PM »
No worries, just ordered the new screw and nut, found another supplier :)
Mach3 V062, CSMIO-IP/A controller, AC Servo Drives

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #247 on: February 07, 2016, 03:49:12 PM »
Thanks Ian, 3nm seems to be the norm for a stepper on the Z :)
Hood

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #248 on: February 08, 2016, 06:09:06 AM »
No worries. TBH I've used around 3Nm steppers for all the axis on routers, plasma tables I've ever built. One stop shop - can't go wrong. (Sorry if I'm teaching granny to suck eggs here but as you're a servo guy - if you go steppers make sure you go for around 3mH inductance).

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Physical buttons for plasma
« Reply #249 on: February 08, 2016, 07:47:08 AM »
Thanks Ian, unlikely to go steppers on this, I put them on the coil winder as servos were of no benefit and more expensive but I hate working it, bloody noisy things these steppers :D

Just got a reply a wee while ago from Wojtek, here is what he said when I asked if the CSMIO supported Mach Plasma functions.
Quote
All our controllers can work with a plasma cutter.

The Anti-Dive feature is supported by the controllers as well.

To the Anti-Dive function we have added a pause which is executed at the moment when X and Y axes get proper speed. 

Not really sure what the pause is about as I am not (yet) a plasma guy.


Hood