Hello Guest it is August 18, 2019, 04:03:49 AM

Author Topic: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please  (Read 1051 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« on: January 17, 2019, 08:44:48 AM »
 Hello all, My name is Scooter. I'm a CNC machinist of over 20 years but this is my first build and I'm a bit confused at this point as to where my problem is.
  A little about my project: I have a 3 axis Central Machinery mill with a conversion kit I purchased from Heavy Metal CNC. I have a Longs Motor CNC kit I purchased from Ebay (that came with no documentation) The kit included 3 Nema 23 425 oz. stepper motors. I am trying to run this unit with my laptop which is a Windows 10 version / 64 bit system. I'm also using a parallel port to USB cable.
  I downloaded the Mach 3 demo to see how user friendly it is. The download appeared to go smoothly. I also printed out the Mach 3  installation and configuration manual (version 3)
  I think things started going sideways when I got to section 2.4.1 in the manual talking about running a driver test. I was told by Long Motors that my kit was set up for Mach 3 so I don't know if I need to install drivers and if I do I don't know where to locate them.
  I believe I have my dip switches set correctly as well as my ports and pins (I'm not 100% but pretty sure) When I power up the machine I think I hear the motors power up but I'm not quite sure because of the constant ringing in my ears caused by my years of machining. lol. I can still turn the ball screws with my hand and that doesn't seem right. Also when I try to jog the axis's thru Mach 3 the DRO shows movement but I get no movement on the machine.
  I'm kind of at a loss at this point of how to troubleshoot this thing. Any advise at this point would be greatly appreciated!
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #1 on: January 17, 2019, 09:20:15 AM »
Hello Scooter,

Mach3 cannot use the parallel port to control your machine in any 64-bit system. You can use an external motion controller with your current computer, however. You will need a motion controller with a Mach3-compatible plugin in order for the software to be able to communicate with the hardware. You can scroll through the forum for an idea of what motion controllers you should or shouldn't use and I'm sure others will be more than happy to make a recommendation. In the meantime, I have included the system requirements for using Mach3 below. We also offer email support via our helpdesk, support.machsupport.com. That is always an option if you need some more individualized help as well.

Happy CNCing,
Bryanna

Mach3 Minimum Recommended Requirements

Requirements if using the parallel port for machine control:
Desktop PC with at least one parallel port
(Laptops are not supported)
32-bit version of Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, or Windows 7
(64-bit versions will not work)
1Ghz CPU
512MB RAM
Non-integrated Video Card with 32MB RAM
(Large G-code files, especially 3D files will require a video card with 512MB RAM or higher)

Requirements if using an external motion device for machine control:
An appropriate external motion controller
(options can be found on the Plugins page)
Desktop or Laptop with Windows 2000, Windows XP, Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows 10
1Ghz CPU
512MB RAM
Video Card with 32MB RAM
(Large G-code files, especially 3D files will require a video card with 512MB RAM or higher)
Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk: http://support.machsupport.com
YouTube Support Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/MachSupportOfficial

Offline TPS

*
  •  1,375 1,375
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #2 on: January 17, 2019, 09:22:18 AM »
ok i think you have something simular to this:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/4Axis-Nema23-stepper-motor-425oz-DUAL-SHAFT-Driver-DM542A-CNC-Longs-Motor-/200998727736

this set has a parallel port breakout board.

for pp you have to have a pc with win7 32bit, and a real parallel port.

usb to pp will not work, does not matter witch win Version you have.

if you want to use win10/64bit you have to go to a external Motion Controller.

like uc100, smoothstepper ore something lik this.


oops Bryanna was faster  ;)
anything is possible, just try it.
if you find some mistakes, in my bad bavarian english,they are yours.
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #3 on: January 17, 2019, 10:34:02 AM »
 Thank you for the speedy response. I was wondering if that could be an issue. I guess I'm going to start looking into my options. Thanks again. I'll let ya know how it goes. :)
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2019, 01:12:43 PM »
 OK, so I found an old computer this morning at the flea market that's running windows 7. After the Mach 3 install I attempt to run the driver test and I keep getting a window popping up that says: No Driver Sensed Installed. Run Driver Test
Any suggestions? 
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2019, 01:14:27 PM »
Is the computer 32-bits? And did you choose to install the parallel port driver during install?

-Bryanna
Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk: http://support.machsupport.com
YouTube Support Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/MachSupportOfficial
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2019, 01:25:20 PM »
Darnit  I forgot to check the 32 bit thing and as my luck would have it. Its a 64 bit. I guess I'll be going back to the flea market tomorrow morning.  :'( What did I get myself into. lol
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #7 on: January 19, 2019, 01:10:53 PM »
OK, I'm back with a 32 bit system. I reloaded Mach 3 along with the parallel port driver. Successfully ran the driver test with a system excellent result. Reinstalled the info for the ports and pins. I still have no axis movement and now the DRO's are showing no movement either. According to what I've read I should have movement at this point. Or am I mistaken?
 So as I'm playing around here I see if I turn the estop port to 0 I show movement on the DRO's when I set that port back to 1 it keeps alarming with external Estop requested?
« Last Edit: January 19, 2019, 01:24:19 PM by scooternauman »

Offline TPS

*
  •  1,375 1,375
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #8 on: January 20, 2019, 03:30:21 AM »
here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bWVKJUnSLUc

i found a Video witch describes the wiring of the motor's and Drivers to the breackout bord.
it also describes the e-stop.

maybe it helps.
anything is possible, just try it.
if you find some mistakes, in my bad bavarian english,they are yours.
Re: Newbie to cnc building in need of some help please
« Reply #9 on: January 20, 2019, 08:08:23 AM »
Hey TPS, Thanks for sharing that video. The way he wired both pulse- and dir- to ground doesn't make sense to me. I could be wrong though. I basically followed these videos I found. FYI most of the wiring is in the second video but there is some in the first.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2nEdwtdRYuw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tKQjRCsfZaE