Author Topic: Mach 4 Feature Request  (Read 292393 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline simpson36

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,374
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #240 on: March 12, 2015, 06:33:26 AM »

Not a feature, per se, but the ability to turn off the borders around the image toggle buttons is needed.

Offline poppabear

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,231
  • Briceville, TN, USA
    • View Profile
    • S S Systems, LLC
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #241 on: March 15, 2015, 08:52:27 AM »
Hi Steve,

   Would you be willing to add TWO (possibly 4) “Universal Motion” Plugin variables to the OEM distro? These would be for MPG support that came in across OTHER means than the Motion board itself. i.e.: Modbus, USB, Ether, etc.
The Motion board developer could also get to them, so if we have a Hand Held Pendant (shuttle pro, Mod-io etc.), we could pass the pendants MPG counts and notify them that we are using an MPG, so they could implement the MPG motion.
   
Like have (for up to 3 “Other” MPGs that come across the Modbus), have registers that say this:
•   OMPG1, OMPG2, OMPG3,      These would be the MPG counts, ( OtherMPG1-3).
•   UsingOMG,  (Using Other MPG, this bool would tell the motion board plugin that the “Other”
MPGs have read control and to read the counts from OMPG1-3.

Scott
Commercial Mach3 & Mach 4, Design/Build/Retrofit CNC and Industrial machines.
http://www.ss-systems-llc.com/

Offline simpson36

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,374
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #242 on: March 22, 2015, 04:02:22 AM »

Access to the MACH4 screen source code.

If we do not have this already, then this is a feature request.

If we do have it already, how do we get to it?

Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,251
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #243 on: March 22, 2015, 05:17:30 AM »
that would more than likely be a big no

Offline cpinfold

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #244 on: May 28, 2015, 10:48:06 AM »
I have 3 suggestions:

1) A lot of motor drives include fault indication.  Have default fault input available for each motor.  While this could be done by the user adding some code, including this feature would make it much easier for a hobbyist to just "plug and play".  (I know that these signals could be added to the EStop input, but then you don't know what Motor/Axis has the issue).  Alternatively multiple EStop inputs with the ability to "label" them so that Mach can report which EStop was triggered.

2) Digitally sign your program (as you are doing with the plugins) so that Windows reports the publisher as ArtSoft or Newfangled.

3) Display some message when the demo stops working so that we know whether it has timed out or there is another issue that needs troubleshooting.

Thanks!

Offline Screwie Louie

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 166
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #245 on: May 29, 2015, 04:18:49 AM »
Two thumbs up! Mach 4 = open source. With your current licensing premium as a price for the API, just open it up for us all. Or an option, as a hobbyist and not OEM. The community could evolve  Mach 4 faster than Sherlock Holmes could solve a case. From a trade-off, best-value, cost-benefit analysis and risk analysis what does Mach 4 have to lose? Beta testing has been going on for years. Every day more potential share of industry capture is going to proprietary software at ridiculous costs. An open source community has the exponential potential for you to decrease operating costs, advance development ahead of schedule, increase customizability, and release an industrial product in the short term future. Is the risk worth it? What is the net present value if you did or did not? I don't know, but it is a course of action to consider as an alternative. Microcontroller capabilities...reduction in footprint & cost. Life cycle sustainability and overhead reduction costs. Instead of a few support staff, the potential could be this whole forum becomes your support staff for free. But risk...darn it the risk. Human nature tends to lean towards survival of the fittest. And how do we survive today? By money, cash flow to pay the bills. It would take a community of users that believe in the potential of Mach4's core and API capabilities to contribute their efforts for free. Is that possible or just a pipe dream?

Offline DazTheGas

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 743
  • DazTheGas
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #246 on: May 30, 2015, 06:49:31 PM »
Is it just me or has the add page function in the editor broke, added a new page but can no longer add any objects to it in the editor??

Build : 2472

DazTheGas

OOPS WRONG THREAD
« Last Edit: May 30, 2015, 06:53:22 PM by DazTheGas »
Theres always time for a choccy biccy

Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,251
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #247 on: May 30, 2015, 06:53:22 PM »
just you just tried its fine

Offline DazTheGas

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 743
  • DazTheGas
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #248 on: May 30, 2015, 06:55:10 PM »
But did it give you a copy of default page thats identical or blank one?

DazTheGas
Theres always time for a choccy biccy

Offline dude1

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,251
    • View Profile
Re: Mach 4 Feature Request
« Reply #249 on: May 30, 2015, 07:54:25 PM »
a blank page that I added to, the bit at the bottom was there whats on all pages, if that's what you mean there is a problem with the new versions of M4 it don't like winxp