Author Topic: Hitachi X200  (Read 102186 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #60 on: June 02, 2011, 02:04:08 AM »
(with my DB9 cable) It seems that if i choose anything other that RS232 windows XP tries to install a "serial mouse" and starts moving my mouse and clicking it all around the screen violently.

RS232 will open up with no errors in mach, but i run into the infamous CRC error when trying to write or read.

Your guys guess is better than mine at this point haha in the dark =-(

Offline gd.marsh

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 50
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #61 on: June 02, 2011, 10:16:42 AM »
I purchased a RS232 to RS485 converter from Grainger .. it uses 2 wire RS485 and I added a ground between the PC & VFD for good measure even though it worked without it. 
The Grainger part number is: 3AEA2

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #62 on: June 02, 2011, 03:23:19 PM »
https://www.grainger.com/Grainger/wwg/search.shtml?searchQuery=3AEA2&op=search&Ntt=3AEA2&N=0&sst=subset&typeaheadSearch.x=1&typeaheadSearch.y=5

Just ordered up that part G.D Thank you for the part number. Hopefully it arrives soon!! Technically i should just have to attach my 2 wires from the VFD to it, then plug it in my serial port and it should work right?

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #63 on: June 03, 2011, 03:47:57 PM »
Here is the new converter. "RS232/485C"

Made by "speco technologies"
www.specotech.com

grainger number #3AEA2

Thanks to  gd.marsh for supplying the info!!

Hopefully tonight i can test it out :) (cross your fingers everyone).

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #64 on: June 03, 2011, 05:18:39 PM »
SUCCESSS!!!!!!! I can start and stop the spindle! I ordered a laser tachometer off Amazon.com, so i have to wait for it to show up. Then i can actually tell what RPMS it is spinning @. wow! That converter did the trick, super easy!!

For some reason my speed is limited to 8000rpm inside mach. I think i have to configure it. Also, i see "spindle CW F5" that starts and stops my spindle im assuming in the clockwise direction. What about counter clock wise? Is there a better spindle controller screen i can select? I'm using the stock mach 3 screen set. What does everyone prefer?

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #65 on: June 03, 2011, 05:25:02 PM »
Never Mind wow! Some one really did there homework because i typed in 12,000 rpm in mach 3 and turned the spindle on. On my VFD i have it set to hertz display on the LCD screen. It read 200hz or half the max value exactly. bumped it up to 24,000 rpm and it displayed 400 hertz correctly!!

I'm assuming the brain is doing all of that! thank you very much for posting it up!! Works flawlessly.

I will have to play with it a bit more and get the hang of it!!

I will have a video of it working posted up this weekend! :)

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #66 on: June 03, 2011, 10:20:28 PM »
If anyone else is as tight fisted as I am, then these can be had on ebay for a few dollars.

Example,

http://cgi.ebay.com/RS232-RS485-1-2KM-Data-Interface-Adapter-Converter-/260758890393?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3cb670e799

Greg

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #67 on: June 04, 2011, 03:47:13 PM »
Laser Tachometer came today! All is can say is wow! The speed is right on! :) I'll take a video this afternoon.

Also, i would have purchased the converter off ebay but i was sick of waiting haha. The first "emulator" was from ebay (china) and took about 2 weeks to get here. Grainger had it locally for me, and i received it next day :) They are so cheap off ebay i would order an extra just incase you needed a spare in the future.



Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #68 on: June 04, 2011, 06:13:49 PM »
First off, I want to thank everyone who helped me. I wouldn't have figured it out without The amazing cnczone users, as well as the mach 3 forum users. I want to especially thank "Greolt" for his "brain" contribution which has worked perfectly!

Youtube Video Below:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2_Hsx5nk6o

Brain and image by Greolt zipped and attached below.


CNCZONE "hitachi x200 thread" (READ THIS THREAD AS WELL)
http://www.cnczone.com/forums/diy-cnc_router_table_machines/106932-hitachi_x200_settings.html

Some of the things i used:

Phototachometer
Amazon.com: Digital Photo Laser Tachometer Non Contact Tach: Home Improvement


Grainger converter: (RS232 to RS485 Converter)
RS232 to RS485 Converter - Closed Circuit TV System Accessories - Closed Circuit TV Systems and Accessories - Security : Grainger Industrial Supply

Ebay Converter: (RS232 to RS485 Converter)
RS232 to RS485 1.2KM Data Interface Adapter Converter | eBay

Hitachi X200:
driveswarehouse.com/Drives/AC+Drives/Variable+Torque+VFD/X200-002NFU.html] driveswarehouse.com/Drives/AC+Drives/Variable+Torque+VFD/X200-002NFU.html

Chinese spindles: (search under his store, "spindle")
eBay My World - love-happyshopping

RJ45 Breakout board:
CNC4PC

RJ45 Cat 5 cable:
CNC4PC

Serial cable:
CNC4PC

Pci to serial card:
Newegg.com - StarTech Low Profile 1 Port 16550 Serial PCI Card Model PCI1S550_LP

Quick reference guide to X200:
http://www.hitachi-america.us/supportingdocs/forbus/inverters/Support/hitachi-x200-series-inverter-reference-guide.pdf

Full instruction manual for x200:
driveswarehouse.com/documentation/Hitachi/X200M.pdf] driveswarehouse.com/documentation/Hitachi/X200M.pdf[/url]
« Last Edit: February 19, 2013, 12:49:15 PM by Chaoticone »

Offline stevespo

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #69 on: July 12, 2011, 11:30:52 PM »
Modifying my original post - I neglected to restart the VFD after making changes. 
I now have VFD to Mach connectivity via ModBus.
Now to try out the spindle functions...

Steve
« Last Edit: July 12, 2011, 11:42:41 PM by stevespo »