Author Topic: Hitachi X200  (Read 102197 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline skippy

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #20 on: January 11, 2011, 04:27:44 AM »
2 Questions?

A little bit of history
We have the 2x Chinese 1.5kw Spindle and have tried the Matty Zee  Huanyang VFD plugin with the Supplied Huanyang VFD that came with the spindle which we can not get to work with our Huanyang VFD. So a friend who is still in the build phase of his Mechmate CNC has loaned us his Hitachi SJ200-022FNC2


VFD issue

We have configured the SJ200 VFD with the below setting before we configured A001 and A002 to 3 we tested the spindle run and speed with the keypad and dial all works fine.

Then we configured the  SJ200 to Modbus Communications  and thought the <Test Modbus> button we are able to read and write to Coils and Holding Registers with no problems except when issue the  coil 0001h Run command the VFD goes into Alarm mode that need a power Cycle to clear as clearing alarms and trip in Modbus set the Values but resets the SJ200


Brain issue

We have setup the two Brains that zigmart posted. I know that due to us using  different Cfg # and port and slave address we need to change the brain to reflect this but I'm no sure what setting to us for the following add input screen shot for the from the Modbus Config screen shot

Enter Modbus Address to use?
I know it's an output
Source?

I have shown the setting that I think should work but they don't update the VFD Reg's. If I view the brain while running I can see that it is running and values change.

Screens short taken from my home PC running Mach3 Demo as the Controller PC is with Machine about 30km away


The Questions

1. How do we stop the SJ200 going into alarm when we issue the Modbus Coil Command 0001h 0001?
2. What setting do we use for the Brains for the the Modbus Terminator that we have configured in the Modbus Configuration?

SJ200 VFD Settings
A001 = 03   Frequencey Source Setting
A002 = 03   Run Command Source Setting
A003 = 400  Base Frequency Setting
A004 = 400  Maximum Frequencey Setting
A044 = 00   V/f Characteristic curve Selection
A082 = 220  AVR Voltage Select
C071 = 06   Communication Speed Selection
C072 = 1    Node Allocation
C074 = 0    Communication Parity Selection
C075 = 1    Communication Stop Bit Selection
C076 = 01   Communication Error Selection
C078 = 50   Communication Wait Time

Regards
skippy

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #21 on: January 11, 2011, 06:18:06 AM »
Well you are one step ahead of me Skippy.

I get a time out when trying to write to the holding registers with the "Test Modbus" dialogue.

Can't help with the alarm.  Does it trip when using the panel, if you turn the pot right up, then hit start?

Have you tried C076  02-disable?

Did you remember to flip the dip switch to 485 ?

I know what you mean about wondering what settings to use in the brain lobe termination.  I just have not got that far yet.

Tomorrow I will try with your settings.  See if that helps with "write to holding registers".

What setting did you use for C077 ?

Greg

Offline skippy

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #22 on: January 11, 2011, 09:39:49 AM »
Greg

Quote
I get a time out when trying to write to the holding registers with the "Test Modbus" dialogue.

Have you tried 19200 Baud (C071 = 06) as I was getting some timeouts with 9600 and all went away with 19200. You can also try the (C078 = 50)   Communication Wait Time. and Much later you can try the RS485 Termination Resistors


Quote
Can't help with the alarm.  Does it trip when using the panel, if you turn the pot right up, then hit start?

We had a problem with that in the beginning but by setting (A044 = 00) fixes that. So the Spindle run from keypad and pot with no problems at all.


Quote
Did you remember to flip the dip switch to 485 ?

Yes


Quote
Have you tried C076  02-disable?

I think so will try when I next get to see the Mechmate Machines There's a lot of flood water between me and the Machine and getting worst  (Wonders of living in Brisbane, Queensland Australia)


Quote
What setting did you use for C077 ?

Left it at default

Regards

Paul

Offline skippy

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #23 on: January 17, 2011, 10:05:51 AM »

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #24 on: March 14, 2011, 03:24:34 AM »
Awesome information!!! Ordered a converter that i am waiting to get here. Cant wait to have mach control it! :)

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #25 on: April 04, 2011, 07:11:04 PM »
Hello Peter! For everyone else electrically challenged as i am, Go to page 30 and 44 of this document.

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=130690&d=1301924569

It shows the pinout of the RJ45 (modbus) port to serial. I had to plug in the Cat 5 cable then cut one end off leaving the 8 wires exposed and wired them to my Chinese serial to USB converter i got off ebay.

The document on page 30 shows how to actually wire it.

Greg,

In addition to the 2 data wires, you also need a 0V line between the X200 and converter.

Cheers,

Peter.

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #26 on: April 04, 2011, 07:13:44 PM »
Peter do we use the 2 Wire or 4 wire. My serial converter looks to be if it needs a 4 wire connection since it has Tx+/TX- RX+/Rx- 9V Gnd.

As for the "9V" and the Gnd what do i do with those?

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #27 on: April 04, 2011, 07:36:21 PM »
I posted the following in reply to your thread on CNCZone.  I will repeat here,



Section B3 of the Hitachi manual shows pins 5 and 6 of the RJ45 are data pos and neg

These will correspond to T+ and T- on the RS485 converter. Use one twisted pair in the cat 5 cable

That is all. Only two wires.

Re page B5 of the manual set the following,

A001 03
Aoo2 03
C070 03
C071 05 (this is what I used, other options are available)
C072 1
C074 00
C075 1
C076 02
C077 0.50
C078 10

The last two numbers I have no idea about but these numbers are working for me.

Set the dip switch shown on page B4 to 485

Greg

Offline diyengineer

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #28 on: April 05, 2011, 02:52:01 AM »
http://www.hitachi-america.us/supportingdocs/forbus/inverters/Support/hitachi-x200-series-inverter-instruction-manual.pdf

This is the official 305 page manual @ the link above. I lost my manual and just found this online.

As Greolt said refer to section B3. the only pins used are 5 and 6. 5 is positive, 6 is negative. It also shows the parameters to change on the VFD.

I will hopefully have the box fired up in the next week and can focus on getting it running.

Ill post some videos as well,

Thanks everyone.

Offline Jimmy B. Goode

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 6
  • what you talkin' bout Willis
    • View Profile
Re: Hitachi X200
« Reply #29 on: April 06, 2011, 04:38:50 PM »
Hi,
Having read the posts about all of the trouble everybody seems to be having getting the Chinese vfd's to work properly, I'm wondering if anybody knows if the Chinese spindles will work with the Hitachi X200?  Any input on this topic would be appreciated.

Jimmy