Poll

when trying to enable in mach4 why do i get this error "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"?

Hicon
0 (0%)
mach4
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 0

Author Topic: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"  (Read 4452 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline champlinelec

  • Holding
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
"unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« on: March 08, 2017, 12:59:19 PM »
 ???
I'm are getting an Error code when trying to enable in mach4  "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
 what can cause this error to come up? the hicon card brings in the error light as well.  bringing up a bridgeport CNC (1980's model). i will list specs below

3 axis bridgeport series 1 CNC ( 56v sigma stepper motors )
Hicon intergra 7766
Gecko drivers G203V
24V/5V Power Supply (P5-RD-35B) 
mach4hobby with 3 axis profile (Mill3Axis-Integra with wx4_VSI.set)
running lasted Mach4 plugin ( Mach4_Integra_010217 )
spindle runs as standalone currently
windows 10

i have been using these PDF's as our guide :
Integra User Manual
Mach4 Integration Manual
VSI Device Manager Manual

i have mapped all limit switches for X,Y,Z
mapped Z home switch (X,Y do not have limit switches yet)
enable motors in mach4 for 0=X,1=Y ,2=Z
setup config in Hicon plugin
setup Mach4 config

chime in if anyone can help with this
thanks

Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #1 on: March 08, 2017, 04:31:06 PM »
Hello,

Looks like we were able to resolve the issue over the phone by providing the necessary system activation. The unit accidentally lost the "Arm Enable" activation during a firmware program with an older incompatible firmware version.

We'll look into that more, but firmware 3.46 is the good firmware version for your unit.


-Marc Lim
Vital System Inc.

Offline francocncprojects

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2017, 03:45:57 PM »
Hi.  I recently had an issue with arming the HiCON Hobby board and I figured I'd mention it here in case it is useful for others.  I also have some questions which I'll mention at the end.

System Info:
Mach4 Hobby Build 3233
HiCON Plugin v2.01.47
HiCON Firmware 3.46
Windows 10 Laptop

Problem: 
While adding another axis via the HiCON plugin I suddenly started receiving communication errors, the motors stopped turning and I eventually received the failure to Arm error.

My Fix
1.  HiCON Hobby shipped with firmware 3.47 which I flashed back to 3.46 which did not solve the problem.
2.  Out of desperation, I opened up the manual and double checked all of the plug in settings.  It appeared that I somehow lost a bunch of values and didn't know it.
3.  On the System Tab I set:
       Max Buffer: 100
       Polling Frequency: 100
4.  On each Motor Tab:
       Control Input Source: MACHXX
       Control Input Index: 0 (or 1 or 2 depending on the tab)
       Control Input Gain: 1
       Control Output Type: Stepper
       Control Output Index: 0 (or 1 or 2 depending on the tab)
       Feedback Source: StepGen
       Feedback Index: 0 (or 1 or 2 depending on the tab)
       Feedback Gain: 1
       Feedback Max Following Error: 100
       
Once I applied these settings, everything started working again.

Questions
1.  What is the correct Feedback Source for a closed loop stepper system that DOES NOT deliver encoder data to Mach4?
2.  What is a reasonable Feedback Max Following Error for a closed loop stepper system?

Thanks,
-Franco

Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2017, 12:34:25 PM »
Franco,

The settings you entered in the Plugin are correct. Make the following changes on each motor tab:

1. Feedback Source: Undefined
2. Reasonable Feedback Max Following Error: 1000


-Ricardo T.
Vital System Inc.

Offline francocncprojects

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2017, 12:42:35 PM »
Thanks Ricardo. 

Any thoughts on the firmware?  Should I be on 3.46 or 3.47


Offline Vital System Support

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 329
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2017, 01:01:31 PM »
Franco,

I recommend you download the latest Mach4 HiCON Plugin (2.01.63) and Integra Firmware (3.54) from our website.


-Ricardo T.
Vital System Inc.

Offline francocncprojects

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2017, 01:24:34 PM »
Awesome.  Thanks.

Offline francocncprojects

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #7 on: May 24, 2017, 09:17:08 PM »
Hi Ricardo - I need more help.

I installed Mach4 build 3390.
I flashed firmware 3.54.
I installed HiCON Plugin 2.01.63
I downloaded the sample Mach4 Profile (just in case it updated).

I'm getting an error when I open Mach4 (see attached image).  I also get an error the first time I try to enable the system (see attached image).

Any suggestions?

Thanks,
-Franco

Offline francocncprojects

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #8 on: May 24, 2017, 09:27:19 PM »
FYI:  The errors seem to go away when I use screen wx4.set (rather than wx4_VSI).

Thanks,
-Franco

Offline Mauri

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 292
    • View Profile
Re: "unable to ARM drive (code=355)"
« Reply #9 on: May 24, 2017, 09:28:16 PM »
francocncprojects,
Are you using your own version of a Screen or the one provided?
If it is your own Screen, do have Script controls?
If yes, have you checked that machine.ini has Inputs and Outputs to HiCON?
Regards,
Mauri.