Author Topic: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board  (Read 5921 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline ThorstenU

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« on: July 21, 2013, 04:04:33 AM »
Hello,

i bought a new USB Motion Board for Mach3, so i my machine can have more Input signals.
Here you can see the card on ebay http://www.ebay.de/itm/3-axis-CNC-USB-Card-Mach3-Breakout-Board-Interface-200KHz-windows2000-xp-vista-/261163685477?pt=Motoren_Getriebe&hash=item3cce919665

But now the z Achse does not move up and down. The light for the input signal is flashing and mach3 does say the same.
But nothing happens when the TH Up and Down signal is active.

What could be my problem. With my normal breakout board everything worked fine.

Thanks from germany
Thorsten

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2013, 04:31:44 AM »
Mach's full THC capability only exists in the parallel port driver.

Ian

Offline ThorstenU

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2013, 05:16:30 AM »
ok, thats not good. How can i fix it?

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #3 on: July 21, 2013, 05:18:33 AM »
Fix what?

Offline ThorstenU

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #4 on: July 21, 2013, 05:21:12 AM »
How can i use my thc control with the usb board.
Or is there no possibility?

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #5 on: July 21, 2013, 06:09:57 AM »
I know of NO external motion card that supports THC. AFAIK it's parallel port only.

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #6 on: July 21, 2013, 06:24:57 AM »
CSMIO and I think SmoothStepper support THC, possibly others,   but as Ian has eluded to, the THC function has to be supported by the device you are using, whether that is Parallel Port or an external controller.
 You need to talk to the maker of your USB controller and get them to add that function if it is not already supported.
Hood

Offline stirling

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,188
  • UK
    • View Profile
    • www.razordance.co.uk
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #7 on: July 21, 2013, 06:29:57 AM »
OK Hood - thanks - I didn't know the CSMIO supported THC. I know the SS didn't used to but maybe that's changed.

@Thorsten - out of interest what THC are you using and why do you need more inputs than the PP gives you?

Ian

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,775
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #8 on: July 21, 2013, 06:37:38 AM »
Hi Ian,
 have attached a couple of screenshots of both SS and CSMIO plugins, as you can see THC options are there in both. How well they work I have no idea as I dont use Plasma but I have heard from people that the CSMIO one works as expected.

Hood

Offline ThorstenU

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 and THC Up an Down doesn´t work with new USB Board
« Reply #9 on: July 21, 2013, 06:40:57 AM »
ok,
but thats means i can not use the usb card?! Sorry, me english is not so good.

I am using the proma THC from ebay.
i need 6 input signals.
x,y and Z home switch. And THC Up, down and Arc ok.
Is there a card with PP with 6 input signals? I only found 5