Author Topic: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem  (Read 10052 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline tbyrd0918

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« on: September 03, 2010, 03:44:07 PM »
Dave,
  I'm having a problem with my feedrate not acting right.  I was using beta_5 and all was good.  I changed to beta_9 and Mach 3.043.019 and my Feedrate within the Gcode doesn't always work properly.  F3 runs 9ipm, F20 runs 20ipm,  F3 at 30% runs about 3ipm, F20 about 6ipm.  I looked to see what settings have been changed but can't find any. 1 out of 10 or 15 times F3 does run 3ipm and oddly F20 runs 60ipm!  Something strange is going on.  MDI seems to always be accurate.  any suggestions?
T. Byrd

Offline DaveCVI

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 558
    • View Profile
    • Calypso Ventures - home of MachStdMill
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #1 on: September 03, 2010, 10:50:59 PM »
Hum,
I don't have an idea off the top of my head - I'll think about it a bit.
Feed rates are processed by Mach and so nothing immediately comes to mind that would impact this in MSM.

I'll ask Brian if anything else was changed in 3.43.19 that might be impacting this.

Dave
Author of the MachStdMill Extensions for Mach3
www.CalypsoVentures.com

Offline Calum

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2010, 12:38:32 AM »
This might be related to the issue I reported about wrong feed rates with SS.  Brina thinks it has someting to do with the infor Mach gets back from SS.

Calum

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #3 on: September 04, 2010, 06:39:08 AM »
To add to the previous post, I believe that Brian said the actual feedrates are correct, they're just displayed wrong. Test with a stopwatch and see if that's the case.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline Brian Barker

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 3,517
    • View Profile
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #4 on: September 04, 2010, 08:55:03 AM »
Yes Please test with a stop watch.. If you do a 8" move at 4 "/min it should take 2 min to make the move.. If that works out I think it is only the display. Please test this and I would also like to know if you are using a SS or the P Port.

Thanks
Brian
Fixing problems one post at a time ;)

www.newfangledsolutions.com
www.machsupport.com

Offline tbyrd0918

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2010, 09:13:08 PM »
I am in fact using Smooth Stepper and the displayed rates are correct.

T. Byrd

Offline lragan

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #6 on: September 04, 2010, 09:13:59 PM »
I have just updated to Mach3 ver19, and MSM Beta 9.  I had been unig 16 and Beta 5.  My feed rates are now running about 3 times the requested rate.  F20=F58  F19=F55.  The indicated rate is definatley correct IE it is actually running at the high rate.  I am using SS.  There was not a problem with the previous version.

Offline lragan

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #7 on: September 04, 2010, 09:37:34 PM »
After reading the above post I went and tested different feed rates.  F5=F14.7 indicated.  F10=F29.4 indicated and F20=58.7 indicated.  I tried rebooting and the results are the same.  Using SS.  This problem did not occur with ver16 of Mach and Beta 5 of MSM.

Offline tbyrd0918

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #8 on: September 06, 2010, 08:09:11 AM »
Iraqan,
Sounds like the exact same thing that I'm getting.  Maybe someone can figure it out.  I hate to go back a version!

Offline DaveCVI

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 558
    • View Profile
    • Calypso Ventures - home of MachStdMill
Re: Feedrate with SS and MSM problem
« Reply #9 on: September 06, 2010, 10:25:35 AM »
Iragan,
Are you using a PP or a SS?

Dave
Author of the MachStdMill Extensions for Mach3
www.CalypsoVentures.com