Hello Guest it is March 18, 2024, 11:49:30 PM

Author Topic: Index switch / limit switch  (Read 7434 times)

Offline Chris.Botha

•  488 488
  • wine me.. dine me.. tram my mill for me...
    • View Profile
    • Digital-Jeweller
Index switch / limit switch
« on: May 19, 2009, 09:56:45 PM »
This is a complete noob question.. proabbly covered in documentation somewhere but im too lazy/old/ignorant to find it...

i have four "limit switches" on my mill which are used to home my axis' and one is used as a probe.. and they work really really well..

the only headache with them is that if I accidentally crash into them they move out the way to save the switch but that means I have to refind my 4th axis Y centre after I recover from the crash.. major PITA..

now it occurs to me it should be a reasonable simple thing to just tell the mill to stop moving in its current direction if it hits the limit switch in the course of a errant path or manual jog.. like a mini estop if you will..

I checked the options but its all greek to me..

dumb jeweller here...

any help appreciated

Re: Index switch / limit switch
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2009, 11:02:51 PM »
Did you try the soft limit option?

Jeff

Offline Chris.Botha

•  488 488
    • View Profile
    • Digital-Jeweller
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2009, 11:21:14 PM »
I think that applies to the machine slowing down when it does a home operation? I need something that will stop the mill if it goes more than 2 micron or so over the actual limit switch during normal operation, not just during homing?

im prepared to live with an ESTOP solution as ti will savbe me from killing $200 omron switches...

« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2009, 11:27:43 PM »
Just post a section of Mach3 Manual, normally, soft limit will prevent hitting limit switch.

But, again, I'm not an expert, just trying to help, Jeff

5.6.1.3 Configure Soft Limits
Most implementations of limit switches involve some compromises. Hitting them accidentally will