Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 01:45:32 AM

Author Topic: Mach3 script conversion into macros for Mach4  (Read 1568 times)

Mach3 script conversion into macros for Mach4
« on: September 29, 2021, 06:01:22 PM »
as the title suggests I would need to convert these scrips into macros for Mach4.
it is possible to do?
thanks in advance for help!

Offline Bill_O

•  563 563
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 script conversion into macros for Mach4
« Reply #1 on: September 29, 2021, 06:07:43 PM »
Take some time and do it yourself.
In the long run you will probably want to change some things yourself.
Here is a link to a LUA for dummies for Mach4
It might help.
Use the one halfway down the page.

https://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php?topic=43260.msg279695#msg279695
« Reply #2 on: September 30, 2021, 03:55:38 AM »
I thank you for your advice, unfortunately I am not able, I work metal, I am not a programmer.
« Reply #3 on: September 30, 2021, 04:14:13 AM »
Hi,
Bill_O is right, you really must learn the basics of Lua, when you do you'll realise just how powerful it is and therefore how powerful Mach4 is.

There are several areas which form the learning curve.

The first tip is to use various scripts and macros that are shipped with Mach4....they are examples of how things work. Often its a matter of selecting
one or more chunks of code and combining and editing them to meet your own particular need.

First there is Lua itself....and that is best researched and understood  with this:
https://www.lua.org/manual/5.3/

Take particular attention of the 'scope' of a function or variable, the principle of a 'function as a first class value', and the structure and use of
tables in Lua. Lua has ONLY one data structure, the table, and despite its apparent simplicity it can be extended to do things that are difficult
to do in much more powerful languages like C. A perfect example of this is the text functions of Lua. Most computer languages use some