Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 02:49:03 PM

Author Topic: Set for mm but moving in inches.  (Read 2025 times)

Offline PeteG

•  33 33
    • View Profile
Set for mm but moving in inches.
« on: May 14, 2020, 10:58:47 AM »
Hello

I have been using mach 3 for several months now and had good results. I have a home made machine that moved on the X&Y axis using a timing belt and toothed pulley system. This worked well, but the belt tension was difficult to maintain and sometimes led to poor results, so I have upgraded to a leadscrew system for both axis. This required retuning of the motors. I used the axis calibration in the settings tab and got readings of around 5200, which seems about right and was close to the steps needed on the Z axis which was already on a lead screw system.

I created a test file using Vectric Vcarve to simply make a straight cut 300mm along the X axis, but despite the mach 3 being set to mm in the settings page, G21 being indicated on the program run screen and the Vcarve project being set to mm, the machine moved in inches.

When I first ran the machine after the upgrade I used the automatic axis calculation tool, but this seems to only work in inches. i.e. despite being set to mm, when using MDI a value of X1 this resulted in a movement of 25.4mm i.e. 1 inch, not 1mm. I got the same result whether the units were set to mm or inches.

What is puzzling is that the Z axis also now moves in inches and I had only fine-tuned this axis using the automatic calculation tool.
What have I done wrong?

Cheers

Peter

Offline PeteG

•  33 33
    • View Profile
Re: Set for mm but moving in inches.
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2020, 11:44:49 AM »
I could really do with some help on this as I can't see why this is happening.

Offline Graham Waterworth

•  2,668 2,668
  • Yorkshire Dales, England
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2020, 04:14:54 PM »
So the pitch of your screws is what?

How many starts on the screws?