Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 03:31:42 PM

Author Topic: tool table  (Read 1198 times)

tool table
« on: April 03, 2020, 04:23:06 PM »
where can i find help in setting up a tool table in mach 4? i am new to mach 4; in the past i used linux cnc where there was a sample tool table that could be modified to the desired settings.
what i have found in mach 4 going to "view"-> "tool table", is a table named "tool offsets". that's as far as i get.

jacques

Offline Graham Waterworth

•  2,668 2,668
  • Yorkshire Dales, England
    • View Profile
Re: tool table
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2020, 08:13:01 PM »
Without engineers the world stops
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2020, 11:15:53 AM »
i looked at the video, that is for offsets. i am still at the stage of needing to enter all of my tools into the table before i can do offsets. perhaps if someone gave me a screenshot of the table so i can use it as a guide.....

•  2,668 2,668
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2020, 11:36:46 AM »
There is no tool table as such, the tool table is normally in your CAM system, Mach only needs the tool length and diameter setting in the offset page.
« Reply #4 on: April 06, 2020, 01:59:54 PM »
now why couldn't anyone (i posted in many places) tell me that in the first place? THANK YOU!!!!!
can i ask another question?
i have looked at assorted videos regarding the offset procedures. all very well explained in terms of "how to do it", but nothing as to "why to do it".
do you have a simple explanation like you did for my first question?
jacques
p.s. i explain woodworking techniques to my clients (www.bois-exotique.com). i have come to understand that giving instructions or how to "do" things is fairly useless. instead, i explain the "why's" of things--from that point on, most people don't need "instruction interpretation"; they can figure things out.
thanks again.

jacques

•  2,668 2,668
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 06, 2020, 04:06:22 PM »