Author Topic: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed  (Read 290 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JM2018

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« on: January 06, 2019, 09:10:06 AM »
Apologies if this is posted in the wrong area but I’m new to the site and have not managed to find a solution to my homing issue.
Running Mach3/Parallel Port/WinXP
When selecting [Home Ref All] the Z axis travels toward home, hits the home switch and continues to run until the switch is released, once released the DRO will zero and then the Y axis starts until the (Y axis) home switch is activated however the display will not zero until after the home switch is released then the same happens with the X axis.
Have isolated the machine from my break out board and connected 3 micro switches to simulate home switch activation.
As before when selecting Home Ref All each axis runs in their respective direction, actuating the home switch and will only zero the display when the switch is released (not when the switch is initially actuated) at which time the next axis in sequence repeats the same problem
Any help would be appreciated.
Many thanks,

JM2018
« Last Edit: January 06, 2019, 09:16:46 AM by JM2018 »

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2019, 09:27:03 AM »
That's how Mach3 works. It hits the switch, and then reverses and backs off. When the switch opens, the axis is zeroed.

If your machine is driving past the switches, then you may have a noise issue.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline JM2018

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 02:45:39 PM »
Thank you for responding quickly.
It does not automatically reverse until the switch is released, while the switch is held down the motor runs as though the switch has not been activated.
When the switch is released the system responds as it should, reverses the prescribed amount - zero’s the DRO and proceeds to the next axis and repeats the same process.
To eliminate any noise issue I wired switches directly to the break out board, actuated them manually and the same result occurs.
This happens on all three axis, must be something simple I’m missing?
 
JM2018

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2019, 02:58:03 PM »
If you look at the diagnostic page, are the LED's showing the switches activated when you push them manually?

In General Config, try setting the Debounce to 5000, and see if it makes any difference.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline JM2018

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2019, 04:51:16 PM »
Yellow LED’s definitely light when the switches are activated but the motors keep driving in the same direction until the switches are released when Drive is reversed and the DRO, go to zero.
Set bounce & debounce to 2000 previously but no change.
Will try setting to 5000 and see what happens.
Many thanks Ger21.

JM2018

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,127
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #5 on: January 06, 2019, 05:19:30 PM »
I don't have an answer for you, as the motors should reverse when the switch is activated.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline JM2018

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #6 on: January 06, 2019, 06:24:01 PM »
Thank for trying to help Gerry.
Hopefully an answer will materialize.
I can of course manually set limits and offsets each time the machine is started but for obvious safety reasons I want to have the Ref All Home function operating.
Will keep pondering!

Regards,

John

Offline JM2018

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #7 on: January 06, 2019, 08:48:40 PM »
Set denounce to 5000 still have the same problem.
Increasing the debounce time seems to slow down the systems response to the switch actuation.
Other than that the system changes axis only when the switch is released.
Very puzzling,


John

Offline TPS

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,116
    • View Profile
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #8 on: January 07, 2019, 01:27:46 AM »
witch BOB are you using?
anything is possible, just try it.
if you find some mistakes, in my bad bavarian english,they are yours.

Offline JM2018

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: New to site - Mach3 homing support needed
« Reply #9 on: January 07, 2019, 04:14:00 AM »
I’m located down under in Australia.
My BOB is an Ocean Control KTA-205 (12V version without charge pump)

JM2018