Author Topic: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it  (Read 16462 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,676
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #50 on: September 05, 2018, 10:58:59 AM »
With this new Mach3 patch, R3.043,  does anyone know if M10 and M11 still work ?

 I’m trying to use M10 and M11 To control my laser power and it does not seem to be working.

I am using a CNC4PC 62  BOB board  and cannot get a output   Signal from Port 1  pin 15 or Port 2 pin 11 on the Rj45-8  output.


 Chuck

Hi Chuck,

M10Px/M11Px still work OK with the R3.043.062 version.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline chuck767

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #51 on: September 05, 2018, 11:13:43 AM »
 Thanks Tweakie,

I must be doing Something wrong. 

In MDI mode I’m entering “M10P11 and M11P11  with no voltage output signal change

 In the pins and ports I do have the output number 1 configured to pin 11.

Chuck

Online Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,676
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #52 on: September 06, 2018, 02:09:22 AM »
Hi Chuck,

Don't forget that the M10Px/M11Px commands only take effect at the instant of axis (any axis) movement so you would need a two line MDI to test it that way and I don't think that can be done in Mach3.
It may be better to just create a simple Gcode program for the testing.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline chuck767

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #53 on: September 06, 2018, 10:16:04 AM »
 Thanks Tweakie,  I will give that a try.
Really appreciate your help in getting my laser running.
 Chuck

Offline chuck767

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #54 on: September 07, 2018, 07:15:14 PM »
 Well Tweakie  I tried  a short program with the M 10/11 and it still didn’t work.


 I’m reading 10.3 V from    Pins 15.  The voltage doesn’t change  when the M command is executed.

 I have output number one ********* to port 1 and pin 15


 I think I have a jumper in the wrong position on the C 62 board. I’m sure Arturo  can advise me on that one.


 I’m sure We will  figure it out eventually.

Chuck


Offline chuck767

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #55 on: September 07, 2018, 10:35:42 PM »
i just ran across your post a while back Tweakie,  This solves what I'm doing wrong.

" If you use the command M11P1 this will switch ON Output#1 and the command M10P1 will switch OFF Output#1 but both these commands only take effect at the instant of an axis (any axis) movement (ie. they must be followed by an axis movement on the next line in the GCode. The numeral following the P will determine which Output# is switched)."

i was usisng p followed by the pin number not the port number.

i will try using M10P1 tomorrow and not 10P15

Chuck

Online Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,676
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #56 on: September 08, 2018, 01:40:26 AM »
Hi Chuck,

Sounds like you are on your way now.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline chuck767

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #57 on: September 09, 2018, 10:18:07 AM »
So if I enter this code

G0 X0 Y0 Z0
 M11P1 G1 X10 M10P1
G0 Y1 X0
M11P1 G1 X10 M10P1
M30

And should get two parallel lines 1 inch apart, 10 inches long  with the laser coming on and off at the beginning and end of each line with M commands

I didn’t, so I think I have the wrong jumper settings on the C 62 board.

I posted this jumper question on Arturo‘s forum (Cnc4pc).

 If anyone is using this board, C 62 I would appreciate  comments.

Thanks,

  Chuck

Online Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,676
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #58 on: September 09, 2018, 11:24:02 AM »
Hi Chuck,

Your Gcode should look something like this;

G0 X0 Y0 Z0            'if not at zero then move to zero
F600                       'set feedrate
M11P1 G1 X10         'turn on laser and draw line to position Y0 X10
M10P1 G0 Y1 X0      'turn off laser and move to position Y1 X0
M11P1 G1 X10         'turn on laser and draw line to position Y1 X10
M10P1 G0 X0 Y0      'turn off laser and move to zero position
M30                        'end Gcode program and rewind
%                           'null character to ensure carriage return at end of Gcode

This Gcode will turn Output#1 ON and OFF so check that your laser trigger is connected to the Port and Pin number you have specified for Output#1 and that you have the Active Hi / Low for Output#1 set correctly.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline chuck767

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #59 on: September 09, 2018, 11:55:14 AM »
 Thank you Tweakie.
 I will definitely try this code.
I also found this  posting which is interesting also.

“Thanks for the responses. I've resolved this issue. There is a known hardware fault in the C62 BOB which has rendered the RJ45 connector for the Port1 Limits&Home inputs (pins 11,12,12,15) inoperable.
The workaround for this is to wire direct to the terminals. I've documented the workaround and attach it for reference should anyone else encounter this issue.”

 I’m trying to use output pin number 15

 I have asked Arturo if this is been corrected on the C board

 Thanks,
Chuck