Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 07:56:06 AM

Author Topic: Delta servo and uc 300 5 lpt motion controller.  (Read 7497 times)

Delta servo and uc 300 5 lpt motion controller.
« on: December 13, 2017, 04:27:00 AM »
Hi all,
I am very new to cnc and I want to convert my conventional lathe to mach 3 based cnc.
I have got 750 watts delta asda-b2 series servo drive and motor and uc300 5lpt motion controller.
My first question is does uc 300 works with servo drives? If yes how to interface it with mach3 ,Bob and servos.
If I want to use servos in velocity or torque mode.from the drives documentation I understood that there are pulse and sign inputs whereas mach 3 gives step and dir signals. So how to interface mach3 with servos,using uc300 5 lpt motion controller.

Can someone plz help me with this.
Thanks and regards
Re: Delta servo and uc 300 5 lpt motion controller.
« Reply #1 on: December 13, 2017, 09:11:07 AM »
Hi,
yes the UC300 will drive servos just fine.

The pulse/sign signals are the same as step/direction. If  you want velocity or torque mode you wont be using step/direction though, those modes
require an analogue voltage (or current).

If you wish to do threading then I would recommend step/direction control, it results very VERY tightly controlled motion just perfect for threading.
Some servos offer two modes of control selectable by the state of one input pin. Would allow you to have a velocity mode spindle for the majority
of operations and switch over to step/direction for threading.

Craig
'I enjoy sex at 73.....I live at 71 so its not too far to walk.'
« Reply #2 on: December 14, 2017, 04:14:04 AM »
Hi Craig,
Thanx a lot,
 So, that means I have to use my servo drive in position control mode.my requirement mostly will be plain and profile turning and boring.so,will position mode be ok for my operations?secondly can u help me with  signals from mach 3 to uc300 to my servo drive asda-B2-0721( I mean which signals to use,I m kinda lost there).