Author Topic: probing problems  (Read 1407 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
probing problems
« on: September 28, 2017, 10:49:02 AM »
Hi all
I wonder if I am missing somthing in the  set up of the probing screens. I am having problems with Mach 4 probing.
First of all my probe works fine mach 3 with PobeIt and with Art's routines.
I am using the same milling machine and comuter with both Mach 3 and 4.
when I run the calibration in mach 4 the probe hits home once then comes up with "error probe not touching".
I am running in metric and have converted the default settings in the Probing Calibration Mach4 video to mm
I am probiing a 25mm dia inner bore.

I am using Mach 4 Ver 4.2.3481 ESS ver 210

Thanks
Bob

Offline joeaverage

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4,756
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #1 on: September 28, 2017, 01:58:36 PM »
Hi,
does the probe LED on the diagnostics page come on when the probe actually strikes?

Craig
My wife left with my best friend...
     and I miss him!

Offline redpiperbob

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 39
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 04:51:10 AM »
Hi Craig
yes the probe light on the display does light
I have attached a veiw of  the status list

Thanks
Bob
« Last Edit: September 29, 2017, 04:53:24 AM by redpiperbob »

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,460
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #3 on: September 29, 2017, 09:09:04 AM »
Sounds a lot like noise/bouncy switch to me. Not sure if you can add some filtering for the probe input in the ESS config. but think you can and should by the sounds of it. Even if the LED looks good it can all be processed, checked and reporting the error before you can begin to think about it, much less see it.
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline joeaverage

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4,756
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #4 on: September 29, 2017, 02:30:44 PM »
Hi,
when I looked at the status messages I guessed that this probing operation must involve a couple of moves, am I correct?
Looks like the probe travels to the right say to find one inside edge, which it does successfully and then travels to the left to find the other edge at that
fails. If this is indeed the case I suspect that the 'wizard' which is generating the movement codes is crook rather than the probe itself.

Craig
My wife left with my best friend...
     and I miss him!

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,460
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #5 on: September 29, 2017, 05:07:19 PM »
Sounds like it's touching during the probe move (which ends the probe move) then checking to see if the probe is active (which it won't be now I'm guessing) so it can continue or give an error (no contact with probe). Just an educated guess though.
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline joeaverage

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4,756
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #6 on: September 29, 2017, 05:35:25 PM »
Hi Chaoticone,
very clever bit of guessing...would explain symptoms to a tee.

Craig
My wife left with my best friend...
     and I miss him!

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,460
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #7 on: September 29, 2017, 06:09:06 PM »
Hey Craig,

When I wrote the touch module I ran into the same thing when trying to simulate.
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline joeaverage

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 4,756
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #8 on: September 29, 2017, 06:57:25 PM »
Hi Chaoticone,
always forget that the most active contributors to the forum actually develop Mach 'in their spare time' like.

You wrote the probing module, kool, very kool, but don't you have other and better things to do? You poor sick little puppy! LOL

Craig
My wife left with my best friend...
     and I miss him!

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,460
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: probing problems
« Reply #9 on: September 29, 2017, 08:41:59 PM »
 ;D

No, I did not write the probing module. I wrote the touch module. 2 completely different modules. I did not make the video at the following link either but it is about the touch module.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VA49atQNzmg
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!