Author Topic: X offset appears to change  (Read 2599 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Slipery

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
X offset appears to change
« on: September 08, 2017, 01:13:18 AM »
I am setting up the machine and have noticed a problem where the X offset seems to change for no reason mid code.
I am  engraving a rectangle which is meant to be with corners at absolute points (7.5,7.5), (7.5,52.5), (92.5.52.5) and (92.5,7.5).
I am using Mach3 and a ethernet smooth stepper.
Points on the DRO of Mach 3 look correct but when I run the file. I cut what you see in the picture.
Steps taken are
1. Ref all home (using proximity switches)
2. Go to Zero indicated by the end of the ruler in the picture.
3. Run the file generated by Aspire
N110G00G21G17G90G40G49G80
N120G71G91.1
N130T6M06
N140 (V-Bit {60 deg 32 mm} )
N150G00G43Z23.999H6
N160S16000M03
N170(Toolpath:- Profile 1)
N180()
N190G94
N200X0.000Y0.000F900.0
N210G00X7.500Y7.500Z10.000
N220G00Z5.999
N230G1Z-1.50F900.0
N240G1Y52.500F900.0
N250G1X92.500
N260G1Y7.500
N270G1X7.500

The fourth edge of the rectangle finishes at about (15,75) but the DRO indicates (7.5,7.5) and if I issue a go to zero from mach 3 the tool moves to aproximately (7.5,0) DRO indicates (0,0)
Now if I repeat this complete set of steps the tool will travel the exact same path each time. If however I simply rerun the file without rehoming the tool will cut the complete rectangle only.
My original thought was lost steps on X axis (slaved) but it seems too consistent too be that. I would expect the number of steps lost would not be the same each time. Thoughts please would be appreciated.
The picture shows the resulting engraved rectangle after multiple itterations of the above steps.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,637
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 02:04:33 AM »
The Gcode posted is not complete.
Could you perhaps .zip and attach a complete Gcode file ?

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Slipery

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2017, 02:09:44 AM »
No it is not complete I have cut the remaining code from the end ie Profile 2 as it was quite long and adds nothing to the operation (it was engraving a couple more rectangles and writting text.  This is the actual code that I ran to produce the engraving in the picture (albeit multiple times),  Ni errors are generated.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,637
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #3 on: September 08, 2017, 02:17:38 AM »
Quote
This is the actual code that I ran to produce the engraving in the picture (albeit multiple times),  Ni errors are generated.

The code you posted only machines 3 sides of the rectangle ???

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Slipery

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #4 on: September 08, 2017, 02:24:54 AM »
Unless I am mistaken it cuts all four sides
N210positions to start at 7.5,7.5 (first corner)
N230G1Z-1.50F900.0 Drops Z axis to below surface
N240G1Y52.500F900.0 positions to (Second corner)
N250G1X92.500 (Third Corner)
N260G1Y7.500 (Fourth Corner)
N270G1X7.500 (back to first corner)

Mal

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,637
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #5 on: September 08, 2017, 04:22:30 AM »
My mistake - without a CR (or similar) at the end of the Gcode the last line is ignored.

So, your code runs OK here.

Can you attach Your <profile> .xml file (the one from your Mach3 folder) then we can check your Mach3 settings and attempt to spot the problem. You need to copy and rename the .xml file to Slipery.xml before posting using Additional Options.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Slipery

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #6 on: September 09, 2017, 01:20:43 AM »
I cant access the machine untuill after the weekend.  Another thought could it be the ethernet smooth stepper I use.
Cheers Mal

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,637
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #7 on: September 09, 2017, 01:24:36 AM »
Although nothing can be ruled out the ESS only does what it is told to do so I doubt that the ESS is the cause.

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline Slipery

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #8 on: September 11, 2017, 03:04:10 AM »
Thanks Tweakie, found the problem.  Grub screw had come loose on the drive pinion of both A and X axis (A slaved to X) causing servere backlash. (10mm)

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,637
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: X offset appears to change
« Reply #9 on: September 11, 2017, 03:27:41 AM »
Good news, pleased you found the problem.  :)

Tweakie.
Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.