Hello Guest it is April 26, 2024, 03:18:27 AM

Author Topic: Pokeys 57E Need help getting started  (Read 17229 times)

Pokeys 57E Need help getting started
« on: October 28, 2014, 09:29:20 AM »
Hi everyone,
I’m quite new to cnc stuff and got a problem with my system.
I’m not able to get the motors running (just holding torque).

System:
Pokeys 57E
Stepper Motor Driver DQ542MA (wantai kit)
(http://www.wantmotor.com/ProductsView.asp?id=257&pid=82)
Stepper Motor 57bygh627
(http://i1274.photobucket.com/albums/y439/michelle08070238/57BYGH/57BYGH627marked_zps435699b0.jpg)

I downloaded the latest Mach 3 Software and I’m running the 3.1.38 Pokeys Mach3 Plugin.

Therefore I copy and pasted the pokeys.dll tot he plugin-folder of mach3.
I activated it and just enabled under ports and pins the X,Y, and Z-Axis.
according to the Pokeys manual, thats all. Now I should get started with the motortuning, but nothing works.
When I connect the Pokeys to the PC and I test the pulse engine nothing moves.

At the wantais page you get two possible wirings:

1.   Pul + , Dir+ Enbl+ go to 5V and Step- Dir- go to the Controller (Pokeys)
Enable- can be left unconnectetd (enabled)

2.   Pul + , Dir+ Enbl+ go to the Controller (Pokeys)  and Step- Dir- Enbl- go to ground
Which wiring should I use?
At the moment I use the first wiring, because I read in here that it works like that.
When I give power tot he drivers, the green LED goes on and the red is out (allways, never had it on). The Drivers provide holding torque but dont move the motors.

When I’m in the Pokeys config menue under the toolbar „pulse engine“ an try to test movements, the green LED on the board starts flashing fast but nothing moves. When I close the Pulseengine setting the LED is on (stable).

What is my Problem?
Mach settings? Wiring?

Would be nice if someone could help me out here..

Thx Lukas
Re: Pokeys 57E Need help getting started
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2014, 04:24:36 PM »
Dear Lukas,