Hello Guest it is April 29, 2024, 06:32:45 AM

Author Topic: GRex motor tuning and general configuration ?  (Read 15351 times)

GRex motor tuning and general configuration ?
« on: March 18, 2007, 03:24:38 PM »
Hi all, my first post here. (Hopefully not the last)

I'm a CNC newbie and Mach newbie also, so please be patient with me if I ask obvious questions.

I purchased a GRex and spent the last several weekends building power supplies and wiring a test bed together.
Today I actually connected a stepper to my G203V which in turn is connected to my RGex.
I successfully flashed with the most recent firmware (March 10/2007) and can communicate with it.

I downloaded the manual(s) and tried to tune my stepper (not attached to my other hardware yet).
I know that the stepper is wired correctly because if I load one of the supplied GCode samples and run it, the stepper happily spins in both directions!

Following the motor tuning instructions I can't get the motor to spin ?

Here's what I have so far with regards to configuration.

From the Engine Configuration dialog:

Port Setup and Axis Selection
   I left everything in default settings (Nothing enabled).
Motor Outputs
   I enabled X, Y, Z, A, B, C (I will be using them all) and left all other settings at default (Step Pin=0, Dir Pin=0, Step and Dir ports = 0, Both Active high)
Input Signals
   I enabled all the Home and Limit switches and left all other settings at default (Port=0 Pin = 0)
   The GRex monitor screen shows that they are working, but how do I map them in Mach3 ?
Output Signals
   I did not enable anything but I will be using some, again how do I map them in Mach3?
Encoders
   None.
Spindle
   Defaults
Mill Options
   Defaults

Any help configuring my GRex with Mach3 would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Marc.

Offline mhdale

•  130 130
  • Knowledge is the Treasure.
    • View Profile
    • Black Dragon Technologies
Re: GRex motor tuning and general configuration ?