Author Topic: Can't Read PLC from a Brain  (Read 4733 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Dan13

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,244
    • View Profile
    • DY Engineering
Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« on: February 08, 2013, 09:40:02 AM »
Have a strange problem. For some reason I can't read a PLC output using a Brain. Can write to a PLC with a Brain, but can't read. It reads fine using the Modbus test window in Mach3, but not from within a Brain. Any idea what could be the reason? Attached screenshots of the Modbus settings and the Brain.

Thanks,
Dan

Offline poppabear

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,231
  • Briceville, TN, USA
    • View Profile
    • S S Systems, LLC
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2013, 07:12:37 PM »
you need to use the serial modbus brain inputs,

see "Brains Users Guide" under member docs.

Scott
Commercial Mach3 & Mach 4, Design/Build/Retrofit CNC and Industrial machines.
http://www.ss-systems-llc.com/

Offline Dan13

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,244
    • View Profile
    • DY Engineering
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2013, 01:18:07 AM »
Hi Scott,

I am using that document and it's very helpful! Thank you for writing it.

Not sure what you mean, though. Please see screenshot showing how I am doing the input for the Brain shown above.

Dan

Offline Dan13

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,244
    • View Profile
    • DY Engineering
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #3 on: February 10, 2013, 12:57:17 PM »
Strange thing is that I am able to read outputs from the VFD using same Brain. Then why it wouldn't read from the PLC? Again, what's most strange is that I can read the PLC inputs using the Test window in Mach3. Only doesn't work fro a Brain.

Dan

Offline Dan13

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,244
    • View Profile
    • DY Engineering
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #4 on: February 10, 2013, 02:25:37 PM »
Problem solved. Was wrong communication settings in the PLC.

Thanks,
Dan

Offline SailFl

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #5 on: March 25, 2013, 04:03:09 PM »
I looked for Brains User Doc under documentation but I could not find it.  I saw the videos but I would like to look at text.  Could some one point me in the right direction.  I would like to connect to my VFD using the PLC capabilities of my VFD and I want to read how to do it.

Thanks

Offline Dan13

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,244
    • View Profile
    • DY Engineering
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #6 on: March 26, 2013, 02:01:07 AM »

Offline SailFl

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Can't Read PLC from a Brain
« Reply #7 on: March 26, 2013, 03:44:38 AM »
Dan,

Thank you.  After searching my computer, I discovered that I had a copy.  But I am sure others will find the link usefull.  Now to make it work.

Regards,