Author Topic: Slaving over a hot Pod  (Read 19450 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Slaving over a hot Pod
« on: January 18, 2007, 12:06:11 AM »
 I am building a router that has R&P drive on each side of the X axis.

Although the Y and Z axis are not done the slaving in Mach through LPT has tested well on the completed X

So as Art has released a plugin for the Pod that has slaving I thought I would give it a go  :)

One side of the drive is designated X and the other side A.  Slaving is selected in Mach X to A

Motor tuning is set the same to both drives.  Try to jog. No go. Just acts like it is stalling. (turns slowly, makes a lot of noise)

Tried all sorts of velocity and accelleration settings. Nothing works.

Deselect slaving and X jogs perfectly on its own.

What am I doing wrong. Something stupid I guess.  ;D


Offline Graham Waterworth

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,837
  • West Yorkshire, England
    • View Profile
    • Autovalues Engineering
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2007, 03:23:58 AM »
Have you got the 2 motors running in the same direction?

Are they mounted mirror style or in parallel?

If mirrored they need to run in opposite directions.

Graham.

G-Code is on the cutting edge

Autovalues Engineering, CNC machining specialists, Bradford, England

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #2 on: January 18, 2007, 06:10:01 AM »
Motors are set to run in the correct direction. They are not fighting one another.

Being R&P I can simply release the spring that holds the pinion against the rack untill rotation direction is set correct.

Incidently I could not simply toggle "direction low active" to reverse motor direction as you can when using LPT.

Had to physically reverse two motor wires.


Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,433
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #3 on: January 18, 2007, 06:18:58 AM »
Can you swap your motor wires at the drives? Make x=a and a=x. This might help narrow it down. Before you do that, have you tried the a axis with the x axis disabled?


Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #4 on: January 18, 2007, 06:43:34 AM »
Brett

When X and A is slaved together no go. When slaving disabled both axis jog perfectly independantly.

Of course I have disengaged one pinion.

Wire it back up to LPT and slaving works as it should.

Fairly certain it is not a mechanical, driver or motor problem. Just something to do with slaving with the Pod.

Thanks,  Greg

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,433
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #5 on: January 18, 2007, 06:46:49 AM »
Quote
Of course I have disengaged one pinion.

Wire it back up to LPT and slaving works as it should.

Are you saying all is well with both engaged now?

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #6 on: January 18, 2007, 06:53:47 AM »
Sorry I think you misunderstood Brett.  I have been trying to get slaving going using the Pod.

LPT works but I only mentioned that to demonstrate that I don't believe it is a mechanical problem.

It is slaving with the Pod that I am posting about.

Offline Chaoticone

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 5,433
  • Precision Chaos
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #7 on: January 18, 2007, 06:57:04 AM »
Your right, I did misunderstand. Sorry about that. Yes, I doubt it is in your setup.

Brett
;D If you could see the things I have in my head, you would be laughing too. ;D

My guard dog is not what you need to worry about!

Offline kookaburra

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 56
  • Fussy? Yep! That's Me ;)
    • View Profile
    • Akela Website
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #8 on: January 18, 2007, 02:18:40 PM »
Greolt,

Sounds like there might be a problem with the slaving function. Do me a favour, can you disengage the A axis motor and try to slave X and Y together. If this works, disengage your X axis Motor and re-engage your A axis and slave Y and A together. Let us know the outcome.

On the Motor reversal issue, the place to do that for the POD is in your Homing/Limits in the config not in Ports and Pins. In the table in this section under Home/Limits, the first column will allow you to reverse the motor direction, this works, I had to do it on my machine.

Hope to hear the results soon.

Regards

Dave
"A Helicopter Hovers Above The Ground, Kind Of Like A Brick Doesn't"
"If you think you are under pressure - Try opening a sippy cup on an airoplane - 30,000ft in the air"
Greetings From Down Under
Dave Drain
Akela Noble Technologies Pty. Ltd.

Offline Greolt

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 956
    • View Profile
Re: Slaving over a hot Pod
« Reply #9 on: January 18, 2007, 05:08:14 PM »
Dave

Yes that was the right place to reverse motor direction.  Had not noticed that before.  :D

As I said in the first post this half built machine up to now only has two motors, both driving the X from both sides.

However in response to your request I tried those two motors in every combination I could by
plugging them into the Pod as X, Y, Z, A, B. and C

Every time slaving would not work and with slaving deselected each motor would jog perfectly as an individual.

Could it be a noise issue? Wiring is physically separated but not shielded.

As signal should be identical when slaved it would not be a problem. Wouldn't it.  ???

I spose if slaving is working for everyone else then something like that may explain it.