Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 02:38:55 AM

Author Topic: Lathe ops on a mill - use mill screen or lathe screen?  (Read 4831 times)

Lathe ops on a mill - use mill screen or lathe screen?
« on: August 23, 2012, 06:59:54 PM »
I need a little direction here.

I started playing around with lathe operations on my milling machine.  Stock held in the spindle and tools bolted to
the table. 

I have successfully cut a part on both the mill and the lathe screen.  One the mill screen I had to switch all G2 commands
to G3 commands and all G3 to G2.  I can easily edit my post possessor in CamBam to do this for me so it is not a big deal.

My main question is which one would be better?

I want to eventually set up a multiple tools on the bed of the mill and use work coordinate offsets to locate each one.

Question, Can that be done in the lathe screens?  The lathe screen has no Y so I am not sure how it can be done?

Thank you for the help.

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Lathe ops on a mill - use mill screen or lathe screen?
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2012, 07:48:16 PM »
May want to have a look at using MSM by Calypso Ventures, Inc as Dave has it all setup for doing lathe work on the Mill.
RICH

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2012, 07:52:30 PM »
Another option is you could copy a mill screenset and rename it with a .lset file extension. If you then load that screenset it will look like a mill screen but will be seen by Mach as a lathe. You have to restart Mach after loading the screenset for the changes to happen. You could make two profiles though one a mill the other a lathe.
Hood
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2012, 08:30:26 PM »