Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 07:50:34 AM

Author Topic: How to manually test individual Taig axis using Mach3  (Read 6355 times)

How to manually test individual Taig axis using Mach3
« on: August 02, 2012, 02:26:35 PM »
Greetings folks - First CNC adventure starting with the new Taig. I even got latest version of Mach3 installed. Using XP! At this time, Would just like to know how to configure the right screen settings in Mach3 so that I can test & Jog/ RUN each axis individually. This is the outstanding Taig Microproto 2000 mill with the stepper system. 4 axis system. If this makes any difference I have the parallel port connected to the PC. X Y & Z axis are connected to the Driver Box that is not turn on when system is started.  A axis port is not connected.

I have read the instructions different times but being that I have no previous experience with the jargon,  settings, configurations, etc. I've lost my way. So I decided to present this to the Forum, which is also new to me, to see if there may be somebody who is willing to take the time to explain how all this is to come about or just tell me where to go. 

Appreciate your patience & understanding concerning this matter. Looking forward to what input, suggestions, & assistance that the Forum has to offer this senior citizen.  :)     

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: How to manually test individual Taig axis using Mach3
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2012, 04:12:30 PM »
You will need to set up each axis, you do that from Config menu then Ports and Pins then Motor Ouputs. You need to enable each axis and set the correct pins for Step and Direction and also the port you have them connected to. Afraid I cant say which pins they will be as it is all dependant on where you have them physically connected.
You will also need to tune the motors in Motor Tuning which is again from the Config menu.
Hood

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile