Hello Guest it is April 26, 2024, 02:40:54 PM

Author Topic: Noobie here, thanks in advance for the nice RTFM  (Read 12728 times)

Noobie here, thanks in advance for the nice RTFM
« on: October 31, 2011, 09:40:59 PM »
For some reason, Lazycam keeps "blending" the Z axis with circle cutting in the X and Y.
I'm trying to make flat parts from 1/4" lexan, but lazycam insists on adding the Z axis the the circular interpolation.  Instead of circular cutouts, I'm getting sloped semicircles. Even after I set the depth of EVERY chain, it just ignores the settings.

I have reinstalled this thing more than once now.

I'm new. I've read what I can grasp of the "manual" for lazycam and I'm missing the part where it can't make flat parts.
Being a newbie, I have to assume there is some simple setting that I can't find or some vernacular I don't understand.

What is "lead in", btw?

Help?

OH... and one more thing.  I'm a bit dyslexic and it would help if someone had a FREE g-code reader/editor that printed various lines in different colors.  Have a look at http://www.cncezpro.com/g73m.cfm
« Last Edit: October 31, 2011, 09:49:26 PM by garym1957 »

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Noobie here, thanks in advance for the nice RTFM
« Reply #1 on: November 01, 2011, 06:40:35 AM »
Gary,
What is "lead in", btw?
Lead in / lead out provides a movement of the cutter into the material other than just plunging down into it.
There are numerous options which you can select.  Lead in/ out is required on the approach and exit when using cutter offset compensation
but can be appied to offsetting allowing for improved machining of the piece.

a FREE g-code reader/editor that printed various lines in different colors
Not aware of a free one

Can you post the LCAM file from LC?

RICH
« Reply #2 on: November 01, 2011, 12:34:34 PM »
Yes, thanks very much for looking at this.

Here is the lcam file and the original drawing DXF.