Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 06:41:01 PM

Author Topic: Denford Micromill convert to Mach  (Read 14383 times)

Denford Micromill convert to Mach
« on: February 25, 2011, 06:32:51 PM »
Hello All - I am new to this forum and new to CNC. I am planning to buy an ex-school Denford Micromill (circa 2002) with no control software. I would love to get an idea of how hard it would be for a newbie to convert to run with Mach3 and what's involved (and cost). I have a pretty well equiped workshop, a workshop PC (ok spec, Windows XP, no serial port). I am a software engineer by trade but don't have any electronics knowhow.

My research so far leads me to guess that i will need to replace the control boards for the existing 3 axis stepper motors and the spindle but I am not sure of this plus purchase Mach3.

I would really appreciate some advice.

Thanks very much ! Themule

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Denford Micromill convert to Mach
« Reply #1 on: February 25, 2011, 07:05:01 PM »
I imagine the mill has steppers so the easiest way would likely be to replace the drives but keep the steppers if they are ok. Have a look at the Gecko G540, it might be a cost effective drive setup for you and Geckos make, in my opinion, excellent stepper drives.
Spindle I am not sure of, just depends what it is, if it just needs a 0 to 10v input then possibly the G540's spindle output would work.
Hood

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: February 26, 2011, 02:54:21 AM »
Themule,

I don't know if this helps but I converted a little Boxford mill to Mach3 operation a couple of years back and the details are here http://www.cooperman.talktalk.net/files/14.htm  (I think my additional parts cost was only around 150 GBP)

This may give you some idea of what would be involved if you tackle the Denford.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #3 on: February 26, 2011, 05:16:41 AM »