Author Topic: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011  (Read 80547 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline poppabear

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,231
  • Briceville, TN, USA
    • View Profile
    • S S Systems, LLC
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #50 on: March 11, 2011, 10:09:48 AM »
DaONe?  Phill?  anyone?  Are you guys going to post a "BASE" screen, or do you want me to post one?

scott
Commercial Mach3 & Mach 4, Design/Build/Retrofit CNC and Industrial machines.
http://www.ss-systems-llc.com/

Offline poppabear

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,231
  • Briceville, TN, USA
    • View Profile
    • S S Systems, LLC
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #51 on: March 14, 2011, 09:25:32 AM »
hmmmm,

    Ok, I guess no one wants to put up a starter one, so........   I will work on an initial "New Lathe" screen set.
I am looking over Phils, Jerrys, and others who have put forth work and/or suggestions. I am building some "Bit Maps" to go with it including Page Background bitmaps.

     Since, the original thought, was to also "Add" pages that have the "Wizards" as pages as opposed to add one, I have added a "Wizards" navigation button/page. When you press that button, you are taken to a page that would have all the wizards listed (as buttons), that depending on which one you want, you press that button. Then goto that wizards set of pages.  I was thinking of using 1900 to 19xx Ranges for the Screen sets overall control functions for DROs and LEDs, since the lower ranges are currently already used in the current OEM Wizard sets, and the 2000+ ranges are used by pokeys and stuff like that.......  no big deal really, since the ranges of screen or other User space ranges can be changed in plugins (in general).

scott
Commercial Mach3 & Mach 4, Design/Build/Retrofit CNC and Industrial machines.
http://www.ss-systems-llc.com/

Offline DMBGO

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 181
  • You are young and life is long and there is time.
    • View Profile
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #52 on: March 14, 2011, 09:54:13 PM »
Sounds good Scott,
I am glad you're making a start. If you need some testing done, please let me know

Cheers
Dave
Cheers

David

Offline poppabear

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 2,231
  • Briceville, TN, USA
    • View Profile
    • S S Systems, LLC
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #53 on: March 16, 2011, 03:58:52 PM »
Ok,

    Here is my "Main Page" to the "1024_New_Lathe.lset", tell me what you think.

Scott
« Last Edit: March 16, 2011, 04:01:58 PM by poppabear »
Commercial Mach3 & Mach 4, Design/Build/Retrofit CNC and Industrial machines.
http://www.ss-systems-llc.com/

Offline Dan13

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 1,244
    • View Profile
    • DY Engineering
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #54 on: March 16, 2011, 04:25:45 PM »
Looks good, Scott.

A few things I'd change:

1. I think the "reverse run" button is not needed in Turn.
2. The axes DROs are too small in my opinion.
3. Add a tool offset number DRO.
4. Add an LED showing if the tool offset is active.
5. Spindle CW and CCW arrows look like "Undo" "Redo" ;-).
6. Don't understand some of the buttons (or are they LEDs...): Ind., Thr., Timg., W4T

Dan

Offline battwell

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • mercury leisure
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #55 on: March 16, 2011, 04:33:27 PM »
like it. nice layout
if its not broken yet, fit more gadgets!

Offline Overloaded

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 4,763
    • View Profile
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #56 on: March 16, 2011, 06:08:30 PM »
Couple questions Scott,
What is the dual up/dn arrow buttons for in the Spindle Speed dialog ?
Is there no ref axis button ? Or would you ref independently with "X Homed", "Z Homed" and "Z Ref" ? (assuming they are buttons ?)

Looks good so far. The auqua is a bit bright for me tho.
Thanks,
Russ

Offline DMBGO

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 181
  • You are young and life is long and there is time.
    • View Profile
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #57 on: March 16, 2011, 06:52:43 PM »
The screen is looking pretty full, but quite comprehensive. I was thinking about what I do when I turn the lathe on and the first thing is to reference the axis. I cant see the Home/reference buttons, but i might be suffering from selective blindness.
The rest looks good thanks Scott
Cheers

David

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #58 on: March 16, 2011, 07:07:29 PM »
Scott, just an idea to save space, if you have the LEDs as dual images for such things as G94/G95 etc, thats what I do on my screen. Mine look like buttons but they are actually LEDs, see image below.
Hood

Offline Hood

  • Mach4 Alpha
  • Posts: 25,774
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: THE LATHE PROJECT - 2011
« Reply #59 on: March 16, 2011, 07:12:16 PM »
Oh and just in case you are not familiar, heres what the ES/CV looks like on screen, as you can see only the active LED shows, in this case CV.
Hood