Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 02:34:32 PM

Author Topic: Position or torque mode?  (Read 14499 times)

Position or torque mode?
« on: December 29, 2010, 11:56:41 AM »
I am currently setting up a DMC 4080 to interface with Yaskawa sigma-5 servos.  I have the choice of Velocity, Torque, or position (step and dir) control.  I have been told that velocity control mode will be the worse, since the drives have features that will try to tune the servo as well.  I have hear that torque control should work, as many of the drives' features are disabled in this mode.  I do also have the capability of using position control.  This would allow some of the drives features to make the system better.
I have hooked up the drives using velocity and torque mode. The torque mode appeared to be the most stable, but remember, I have little experience with the galil and tuning in general.  This was also without any load applied.

So, what method of control do you guys think would have the most merit?

Thanks,

Rob

Offline kcrouch

•  193 193
  • In way too deep!!!
    • View Profile
Re: Position or torque mode?
« Reply #1 on: December 29, 2010, 12:06:18 PM »
I use the Galil with Yaskawa drives in torque mode. Just need to tune it well.
Kenny
Having way too much fun! Something must surely be wrong.
« Reply #2 on: December 29, 2010, 12:53:13 PM »
Kenny,

Do you have any videos of your machine running online?  I am still wondering if this control setup can handle what I want it to do (fast 3D carving, with rapid direction changes on the Z axis all the time).

Cheers!

Rob

Offline kcrouch

•  193 193
  • In way too deep!!!
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 29, 2010, 12:58:27 PM »
I don't have any video, but we use Galil and Mach for everything from sign carving to lathe turning. You should have no trouble at all with rapid Z moves.
Kenny
Having way too much fun! Something must surely be wrong.
« Reply #4 on: December 29, 2010, 02:51:31 PM »