Hello Guest it is April 29, 2024, 01:14:50 AM

Author Topic: Lazycam Help, Tool Compensation.  (Read 10709 times)

Lazycam Help, Tool Compensation.
« on: October 27, 2010, 05:26:31 PM »
Hi Guys,

I am new to CNCs, Mach3, and Lazycam. I've been fooling around with Lazycam and a DXF, but after getting my code in Mach3 and running it on the mill, my dimension seem to be slightly off. It seems that Lazycam has not compensated for the size of my endmill even though I have created a tool and set that to my layers. Is this something that Lazycam does, or am I doing something wrong?

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Lazycam Help, Tool Compensation.
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2010, 06:48:22 PM »
Not that i am aware of, but will say this,look at the code and if it is correct then the problem is somewhere else.IE; steps per unit, your machines basic accuracy or how you are maching the piece. LC does look at the profile and will modify the pathing if the cutter is too large to do the cut. An example would be trying to cut a 1/2" radius with a 1 1/8" diameter mill.

What or how much is slightly off?

RICH
« Reply #2 on: October 28, 2010, 10:16:09 PM »
Hi Rich,

If I remember right it was off by about 5 hundredths of an inch, I'll have to check the measurement when I'm back at work tomorrow. For now I am just clamping down a piece of abs plastic to test my code and see that the dimensions are right, later I will be milling into a small project enclosure.

I've attached a .pdf of what I am trying to mill using a 1/16" end mill. I'm not concerned with the circle cutouts, they will just be drilled, and they turned out exact. It was just the rectangular cut outs that ended out a bit larger then they should have been.

When I code by hand my dimensions are nearly perfect, so I don't suspect it is my machine, but again I'm a noob at all of this and don't have any real machining/cad/cam skills.

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile