Hello Guest it is May 22, 2019, 05:33:19 PM

Author Topic: Newbie Needs HELP!!!  (Read 4795 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« on: July 24, 2010, 03:41:28 PM »
I recently purchased a machine built by "CNC Tools & Machinery" which is no longer in business..
The machine does not appear to have ever cut a part, and seems to be built very well.
     It is a converted RF45, to servos, 2hp frq dr, etc...  It came with a liscensed version of Mach2.
I finally got it to run... using an old HP laptop which has a parallel port... Then I upgraded it to Mach 3,
now nothing... doesn't even recognize it at all??

I guess i am retarded!!!

Any ideas?

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,811 25,811
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2010, 03:58:45 PM »
You need to set the correct ports and pins, motor tuning etc, have you done that?
Hood
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2010, 04:02:14 PM »
i guess not!
i do have #1 and #2 set just like it was on MACH 2...

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,811 25,811
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #3 on: July 24, 2010, 04:04:17 PM »
Open Mach2 and look and see which pins do what, jot them down on a piece of paper then close it and open Mach 3 and set things up the same.
Things look a lot different between Mach2 and Mach3 setup but you should be able to follow things :)
Hood
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #4 on: July 24, 2010, 04:05:58 PM »
thank you... hopefully i can figure this out!!!

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,811 25,811
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #5 on: July 24, 2010, 04:10:08 PM »
If you get stuck attach the xml for both Mach2 and 3 and I will have a look, but have a go first and see if you can get it :)
Hood
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #6 on: July 26, 2010, 07:32:52 PM »
i have gotten the xyz to work, but not the Spindle

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,811 25,811
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #7 on: July 26, 2010, 07:47:55 PM »
Go into Ports and Pins then Outputs and disable Output 1 and 2 and see if that helps.
Hood
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #8 on: July 26, 2010, 10:43:32 PM »
tried that.... nothing
i go back into Mach 2... no problems??

i have tried everything i can find... it's like there is no switch or something..
the drives, controllers etc are gecko G320, the system as best i can tell..
is from Automation direct...
a GS2-22PO freq. drive.. servo motors..
motor is AC


I have to be missing something...
The only other thing i can say... is when you hit the E stop on the screen in Mach 2...the machine makes a sound..it sounds "right"....
in Mach three, it makes a similar sound... but it doesn't sound right...

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,811 25,811
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Newbie Needs HELP!!!
« Reply #9 on: July 27, 2010, 02:13:20 AM »
So spindle is a normal three phase induction motor run via a VFD?

I will have another look when I get a chance.
Hood