Hello Guest it is July 20, 2019, 02:40:39 PM

Author Topic: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0  (Read 15152 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« on: January 30, 2010, 07:58:08 PM »
I loaded a new job today and got an error message.  I thought I might have a bad save so I tried another job that I had already run and got the same message.  In fact I get it with every job I try and load.  They all load fine on my office computer!!  I need help.

John Buckwalter
Florida
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #1 on: January 30, 2010, 11:25:48 PM »
Posting the Code might help.
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2010, 07:28:33 AM »
I guess posting code might help but any code generates the same problem.  I ran code in the morning and the same code gave the same results in the afternoon.

John

Offline Graham Waterworth

*
  • *
  •  1,863 1,863
  • Yorkshire Dales, England
    • View Profile
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2010, 07:42:09 AM »
The only way to determine the fault is if you post a sample of code. It only need to be the section that is causing the problem.

Graham
 
Never give up, time will pass, the cloud will clear, the sun will shine once more.
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #4 on: January 31, 2010, 07:46:41 AM »
Ok, here is a snipit, but I don't think the code is the problem.  When I load it Mach removes all the line numbers.

N0000 (Filename: driver pattern.tap)
N0010 (Post processor: Mach2.post)
N0020 (Date: 1/30/2010)
N0030 G20 (Units: Inches)
N0040 G40 G90
N0050 F1
N0060 (Part: Driver Pattern)
N0070 (Process: Inside offset CUT2, 1/2" Ball nose, 0.375 in Deep)
N0080 G00 Z0.5000
N0090 X0.0000 Y0.0000
N0100 (1/2" Ball nose)
N0110 T225 M06  G43 H225
N0120 M03 S20000
N0130 G00 X0.0000 Y0.0000 Z0.5000
N0140 X5.5150 Y4.5000
N0150 Z0.0197
N0160 G01 Z0.0000 F50
N0170 G03 X5.5073 Y4.6247 Z-0.1250 I-1.0150 J0.0000
N0180 X5.5150 Y4.5000 I-1.0073 J-0.1247 F25.0
N0190 X5.5073 Y4.6247 Z-0.2500 I-1.0150 J0.0000 F50.0
N0200 X5.5150 Y4.5000 I-1.0073 J-0.1247 F25.0
N0210 X5.5073 Y4.6247 Z-0.3750 I-1.0150 J0.0000 F50.0
N0220 X5.5073 Y4.6247 I-1.0073 J-0.1247 F25.0
N0230 G00 Z0.2500

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,849 25,849
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #5 on: January 31, 2010, 07:49:34 AM »
Not a problem with that as far as I can see, is that definitely the first line of the code? If it is can you attach the xml from the machine that is throwing the error please.
Hood
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #6 on: January 31, 2010, 08:41:02 AM »
I think I may have had a corrupted file.  I deleted the Mach3 folder and reloaded everything ( PITA ) but it is now loading correctly.  I still have some configs to do but looks like it is back up.  I will repost when I am sure its ok.

John
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #7 on: January 31, 2010, 12:26:42 PM »
Everything is fine.  Something was corrupted somewhere but all is good.

Thanks

John

Offline Hood

*
  •  25,849 25,849
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #8 on: January 31, 2010, 12:55:30 PM »
glad to hear it :)
Hood
Re: Error Message: Bad Character used line 0
« Reply #9 on: November 19, 2012, 12:23:08 AM »
Dear flsteam, I am a beginner with CADCAM and experienced the same error code today. I have since found out that I unknowingly loaded the CAMBAM file .cb instead of the .nc file.
Hope this is correct.