Hello Guest it is March 18, 2024, 11:35:41 PM

Author Topic: Some Simple Questions  (Read 16018 times)

Some Simple Questions
« on: August 25, 2006, 07:11:42 PM »
Hi All...

I'm new to Mach and to CNC machining, I have a K2 3925G and intend to use it for making parts in wood, MachII came with the machine. I followed their setup and then printed out the MachII manual, dropped it in a binder and am on my third pass through the manual, there are so many options it's a little daunting. To learn without destroying my machine or my tools I created a little pen holder and have been playing with the software and machine. To that end I have a number of questions that for some reason my brain has not wrapped itself around yet  ;D

1. What are the main differences from MachII to MachIII, I have found that the .bmp importer in MachII will deadlock my machine and the one on MachIII works perfectly. Just curious before I upgrade and if I have to re-learn a bunch of stuff.

2. The machine has three home switches and no limit switches so I want to set the soft limits, where do these apply in MachII, are they active in all the different screens??

3. I was looking for a good explanation of what effect the scales had on the axis controls, if I set x and y to 10% do all movements in those axis's increase by 10%?

4. Can I configure the positions for the Goto Toolchange option?

5. What is the Goto Safe Z button supposed to do?

6. There is also a Goto Z's option I didn't see in the manual (I probably missed it)...

I've been able to process a number of files and have gotten a number of images and drawings to work, but until I feel comfortable I'm going to just be using the pen  :P

Cheers

-Paul-
-Paul-

Paul Davis
Luthier
Patriot Guitars
Re: Some Simple Questions
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2006, 07:31:41 PM »
WELCOME Paul !