Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 09:12:49 AM

Author Topic: Gear cutting  (Read 6581 times)

Gear cutting
« on: November 18, 2008, 03:28:46 PM »
Hi
I am new to CBC machining an need some help cutting gears or more precise - clock wheels. I have managed to set up the machine to cut gears but the problem is to get the exact dept of cut. When cutting clock wheels it is not so much the depth of cut that matter but that there is no flat on the tip of the tooth. Is there a easy way to toggle the dept in the first sett up before the whole gear is cut? Any Help will be much appreciated.

civtec

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Gear cutting
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2008, 11:38:03 AM »
Hi Civtec,

Are you profile cutting the gears or are you tooth cutting using a forth axis perhaps ?.

Regards, Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2008, 05:00:46 PM »
Hi Tweakie

I am using the forth axis and have managed to cut some gears, but it took a long time by trial and error to get the it right. Both the height or center height and the dept of cut was very difficult to get right. I am not a mechanic so I am st rugling. Is there a easy and/or right way to do this. Any guidance will be appreciated.

Regards
Sivtek

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2008, 03:01:51 AM »
Hi Sivtec,

What I would do is this - Insert a shim between the cutter and work and bring the axis into contact, the shim will be vertical when the height is correct, zero the Z Axis. Now with a cigarette paper on the work and cutter running approach the work (X or Y Axis - which ever you are using for depth of cut) until the paper is touched, zero this axis.
Cut the first tooth and inspect, if necessary increase the depth using the axis scale function ( scale 1.100 for example) and when it looks correct then cut the remainder.

I apologize if this is too basic.

Regards, Tweakie.
PEACE