Hello Guest it is April 26, 2024, 06:14:03 PM

Author Topic: Strange issue since installing SS  (Read 10712 times)

Strange issue since installing SS
« on: August 21, 2008, 03:02:17 PM »
With LOTS of help from Chaoticone I was able to get my SS configured , but have yet to be able to use the mill. Now as soon as I power up my power supply I get the message "external Estop Requested"  . I have been running this machine for 4 years with no problems , this is a first. As long as the power supply is off there is no problem , the instant its powered up I get the message.
None of the axis are anywhere near limit switches and the power supply is a commercial Lambda 48v 40amp power supply thats not in the same cabinet as the SS, no wires or cables laying atop each other .
Just a little confused.
Re: Strange issue since installing SS
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2008, 05:27:56 PM »
Another issue, I rebooted my system and now The red light is no longer lit on the SS board and when I launch Mach I get an error message "time out error getting data"

any help appreciated

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2008, 06:01:03 PM »
Tried unplugging and replugging the USB?
BTW not had a chance to look up about the delay timers yet, been too busy wiring new connectors onto my new servos that arrived today :) Will try and look tomorrow.
Hood

Offline Greolt

•  956 956
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2008, 06:41:26 PM »

Now as soon as I power up my power supply I get the message "external Estop Requested"  .

That is typically a  noise problem. 

I don't expect that the SS is more sensitive to noise than the LPT but it is most likely sensitive in different ways.  A good quality USB cable is a sound investment I think.

There is digital filtering built in to the latest plugin.   Set some fairly high values and see if that fixes it.