Hello Guest it is March 19, 2024, 12:22:35 AM

Author Topic: disabled steppers after a period of inactivity??  (Read 3407 times)

disabled steppers after a period of inactivity??
« on: May 08, 2008, 03:52:30 AM »
Hi guys, I'm new to this game and have run into a minor set up problem that I'd really like to resolve before continuing the setup of my first basic mill.  I started using KCam because it seemed to be a good choice for a beginner, but after being a little disappointed with its performance gave Mach3 a test run, well there's just no comparison, I was a little afraid of all the bells and whistles in Mach3, but taking it one step at a time I'm starting to work things out.

Now in KCam I used pin 14 as an output to my controllers to enable my steppers, and after a period of inactivity I think it was five seconds they would be disabled to help avoid overheating of the stepper motors, can Mach3 do this I can't seem to work out how??

Any help is greatly appreciated,

Darren.
« Last Edit: May 08, 2008, 04:19:50 AM by Dazza »

Offline jimpinder

•  1,232 1,232
  • Wakefield, West Yorks, UK
    • View Profile
Re: disabled steppers after a period of inactivity??
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2008, 05:07:23 AM »
Not that I am aware of. You can use one of the outputs as an enable line, but I do not know of a facility to disable them merely after a period on inactivity. My steppers are connected all the time - I do not even have enables on them - and, if the drivers are correctly adjusted, they do not get warm. The important thing is find out the spec of your motors and then set the drivers to that current output.

This sort of facility is normally done by your driver cards, which normally reduce the current to your motors once stopped - for example on the Gecko cards and quite a few others. I don't know what drivers your are using, but have a look at the spec. This should tell you.