Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 07:32:52 PM

Author Topic: Lazycam project X-Y size diffrent from DFX file X_Ysize  (Read 7203 times)

Lazycam project X-Y size diffrent from DFX file X_Ysize
« on: March 13, 2008, 11:32:05 AM »
I am VERY new to CNC mills, Mach3 R3.036,Lazycam R3.00.2 AND CorelDraw X4. I use each of these. I hope someone can direct me on what I am not doing quite right.
I have everthing going. I am using sign projects in wood  to learn with. Here is my problem.

I lay out a  project  sized as X= 5.5" Y=10.0" with CorelDraw X4. The lettering and image to cut is centerd in this XY area so that i have an equal distance from all edges.  I save the progect as a DFX  file. I open it into lazycam and optimise the file, get the starting point set on X=0 Y=0. If I check the size it is imported asX=5.069" and Y=8.728". It seems that for whatever reason Lazycam only imported the  actual cutting image X Ymaximum refrenced to X=0 Y=0. it seems to have disregarded the actual laid out size of the overall project. If you cut the project with Mach 3 and the engraver tip refrenced to X=0 and Y=0, the project is cut left and bottom. It's not centered as I laid it out in Coreldraw.  Can one of you old hands  lead me into the right direction?

Thanks in advance.

Offline docltf

•  354 354
    • View Profile
Re: Lazycam project X-Y size diffrent from DFX file X_Ysize
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2008, 01:31:14 PM »
pcbmiller

post a copy of your dxf and post a copy of your saved l-cam file.
          tell use what ver l-cam you are using.then somebody can look it over.

bill

Offline Chip

•  2,055 2,055
  • Gainesville Florida USA
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2008, 02:40:48 PM »
Hi, Pcbmiller

If you use the As Drawn check box in Setup, Loading Options , It should maintain the Origin.

Thanks, Chip
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2008, 05:23:31 PM »
 Thanks for the replys folks.