Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 11:50:23 AM

Author Topic: Open a DXF in AC Lt.  (Read 4049 times)

Open a DXF in AC Lt.
« on: February 17, 2008, 12:20:59 PM »
Hello,
 Can someone tell me how, or even if I can open .dxf files posted on this forum in AutoCad Lt.98 as a drawing ?
Thank you,
RC
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 05:44:15 PM by Overloaded »
Re: Open a DXF in AC Lt.
« Reply #1 on: February 17, 2008, 03:11:05 PM »
The short answer is - yes you can (open a DXF in AC lt - at least I can in 2008).  Just use the OPEN function and go the file containing your DXF.  But, I have actually found it easier to IMPORT dxfs into CADX (free cad program - no limits, no spam, etc) and work with them in there.

What are you trying to accomplish with your DXF?

Bob@BobsShop
« Reply #2 on: February 17, 2008, 03:41:07 PM »
Hi Bob,
I'm a manual machinist that still uses a pencil.....how silly is that.
I'm new at this CNC/CAD/CAM stuff and have no prior exp. but am trying to learn all I can on my own.
Haven't had a PC for very long and am getting along pretty good there.
I bought Mach3, LCam/Turn and have AutoCAD LT 98 on my PC.
I can make drawings/profiles in AC and export to LCam OK.
I think what happens is I save the drawing in AC as a .dwg file and it exports as a .dxf.  ? ? ?

When following the topics on this forum, I'd like to view the drawings that everyone is posting the dxf of.
 This would be an excellent learning tool for me.
Maybe I should switch to CADX...Where can I find it ?
Thanks very much Bob,
RC

Actually..I can open some of them, but most will not open.
« Last Edit: February 17, 2008, 05:47:13 PM by Overloaded »
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2008, 08:46:05 PM »