Author Topic: No toolchange  (Read 5273 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline softselect

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #10 on: January 02, 2008, 05:00:02 AM »
Hi TonyP
I only setup for front tool post, the back tool gets its offset as if it is a front tool post (or a long tool from the front) the tool is upside down so to the code it makes no diffs, if you want i will send you a pic, i use this method on my harding it works well.
thanks Friedrich

Offline TonyP

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #11 on: January 02, 2008, 05:59:04 AM »
Ah, that's ok, so long as you don't try & change. I've managed to use tool changes & offsets with a gang tooling plate quite successfully. I use the master tool method, as described in the text. If tool 1 is the master, I would expect to see zero in it's offsets.
If you post your code I can try it on my setup.

Tony

Offline softselect

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #12 on: January 02, 2008, 04:50:04 PM »
Hi TonyP,
Sorry for the delay, I was working late.
Attached NC file is as posted, I tried the Tnn00 (T0200) like Graham suggested, but still no luck.
If you can test the NC file it would eliminate one factor.
I think I may have a problem in the way I am setting up the tools
I am used to using G53 for home (machine coords) and G54 for work coords
I am not sure when I setup where I am, no display of current coord.
perhaps a brief description how you setup would help. I pretty much followed the manual but may have deviated due to lack of info/understanding
Thank you
Friedrich

Offline softselect

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #13 on: January 02, 2008, 04:54:00 PM »
This is how i am using the coords on my Harding CNC

Offline TonyP

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 132
    • View Profile
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #14 on: January 02, 2008, 05:02:47 PM »
Ok, Friedrich,
I'll look at the code in the morning. I'm off to bed now!

Tony

Offline Graham Waterworth

  • Administrator
  • *
  • Posts: 1,845
  • West Yorkshire, England
    • View Profile
    • Autovalues Engineering
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #15 on: January 02, 2008, 05:54:55 PM »
Not sure about some parts of your code, e.g. G53 expects a X and Z as a distance from zero return, G28 also expects a X0 and/or Z0. 

This is how I would do the code :-

Graham.

%
(PROGRAM NAME - LOCKNUT GW VERSION)

G21 G40 (units)
G28 X0 Z0 ( home Pos)
G18 (xz plane)
G61 (EXACT STOP)
G80 (Cancel canned cycles)
G95 (feed/rev)

N2 T0202 (TOOL - 2 OFFSET - 7)
(N151.2-200.5E  INSERT - N151.2-200-5E)
G54 G00 G90 G43 X12.95 Z10. M8
G97 S450 M3
G1 X8.95 F.15
X-.722
Z12.
G0 X-.4
Z11.
G1 Z10.
X7.35
G3 X7.95 Z9.7 K-.3
G1 Z.4
X9.95
G0 X10.95
Z2.471
G1 X5.528
G0 X10.95
Z.6
G1 X4.82
G0 X10.95
X11.95
Z.4
G1 X7.95
X4.42
G0 X11.95
Z5.756
X10.778
G1 X7.95 Z4.342
G3 X7.698 Z4.098 I-.3
G2 X4.612 Z1.649 I2.201 K-3.098
G3 X4.42 Z1.476 I-.296 K.051
G1 Z.4
X4.62 Z.5
G0 X11.95
X50. Z50. M9
M5
M1

N19 T1919 (TOOL - 19 OFFSET - 19)
(2SD4 SLOT BORE  INSERT - 2SD4 SLOT BORE)
G54 G00 G90 G43 X5.02 Z13.4 M8
G97 S450 M3
G1 Z12.4 F.05
Z6.05
Z10.05
G0 Z13.4
X5.94
G1 Z12.4
Z6.05
Z10.05
G0 Z10.707
X8.754
G1 X7.34 Z10.
X7.14
G2 X6.94 Z9.9 K-.1
G1 Z6.
X4.1
Z3.2
Z8.2
G00 X12. (ADDED THIS LINE)
Z11.
X50. Z50. M9
M5
M1

N2 T0202(TOOL - 2 OFFSET - 7)
(N151.2-200.5E  INSERT - N151.2-200-5E)
G54 G00 G90 G43 X10.05 Z1.4 M8
G97 S450 M3
X8.42
G1 X-.4 F.05
G0 X8.42
X10.05
G00 X50. Z50. M9
G28 X0 Z0
M5
M30
%

G-Code is on the cutting edge

Autovalues Engineering, CNC machining specialists, Bradford, England

Offline softselect

  • Active Member
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: No toolchange
« Reply #16 on: January 03, 2008, 03:26:58 AM »
Graham
Thank you for the code cant wait to try it tonight, my code was posted using the post for my harding, and works like that, amazing as that may seem. I will change my post to post the way you set it out for me
Thanks Friedrich :)