Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:03:39 PM

Author Topic: Just getting started  (Read 5294 times)

Just getting started
« on: November 16, 2007, 08:22:45 AM »
Hello to all and THANKS for the welcome.
I've been a manual machinist for many years. Very little CNC exposure, no hands on.
I saw a HAAS lathe  at a trade show that I would like to copy.
It was small with a row of gang tooling on the cross slide plate.
I have numerous THK and IKO rails and trucks for the slides and several stepper/driver combinations from various mfg.
I did build one machine with steppers that was controlled by a microcontroller but it was a pain to program and it would not interpolate.
But.....it did what it was intended to do perfectly.
This new machine will be mainly to do delicate threading as well as profiling.
What I would like to know before I get started is:
   With readily available components, what would the MAX spindle RPM be to cut a 3/8-48 thread in Brass ? Looks like Mach3 would have no problem but are high end components needed to run around 750 rpm for this thread ? What is a realistic rpm that I can expect ?
   The spindle will be fixed speed with an encoder. Will any encoder work as long as it has an index signal ?
I can give more details of the motors and drivers that I have if needed.
Speedy threading is my main concern. Hopefully I can cut this thread well over 500 rpm.
Thanks already, I can see that you guys know what you're doing and I came to the right place.
Overloaded

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835
  • Carnoustie, Scotland
    • View Profile
Re: Just getting started
« Reply #1 on: November 16, 2007, 01:41:10 PM »
For threading I dont think you will be able to use the Index pulse from an encoder, if you are using the parallel port, as the pulse length wont be long enough. However an optical switch and a slotted disc will provide an adequate pulse and is easy to fabricate and very cheap.
Hood
« Reply #2 on: November 16, 2007, 02:00:47 PM »
Thanks Hood,