Hello Guest it is April 19, 2024, 11:02:59 AM

Author Topic: setting machine "home" reference position  (Read 1008 times)

setting machine "home" reference position
« on: May 18, 2023, 05:36:24 PM »
I'm new to CNC machining and have been unable to establish digital(no switches) home reference position  on my new Taig DSLS 3000AB Micro MILL using Mach3. I have been unable to find a tutorial that explains the process in a way that I, as a complete newcomer to CNC can understand how it is accomplished. I am making progress in operating the mill otherwise(program/work zero, etc.). Even the instructions from a tech. at Taig didn't work. Using his instructions I was able to set a Machine Zero(?), but when I set a program/work zero I lost the original machine home, as the work zero was now machine home. I hoping someone can help me with this issue. Thanks in advance
Re: setting machine "home" reference position
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2023, 02:21:38 AM »
You don't actually need a machine home ref position.  My Novamill has home switches and I laboriously set the machine coord home when I first got it going, but almost never subsequently use it.  In actual practice, one normally references the program coordinate zero to the workpiece,  using for example a setting probe. Typically you clamp something to the table, jog the spindle to the desired position of x=0 y=0 and then zero the x and y DROs.
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2023, 12:04:29 PM »
Thank you John. I realize that establishing a home reference position is not necessary in a home hobby CNC machine, but I want to learn how to do it anyway. I didn't realize it would be this difficult to find information on how to accomplish such a basic procedure. As I mentioned in my post, even a tech from Taig Machine Tools gave me incorrect instruction on how to do it.
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2023, 11:16:31 PM »
Hi,

You don't actually need a machine home ref position.