Hello Guest it is April 26, 2024, 10:13:12 AM

Author Topic: tips for getting started with 2 axis plasma cutter  (Read 2090 times)

tips for getting started with 2 axis plasma cutter
« on: January 22, 2023, 12:04:50 AM »
Hello, I need to make a cnc plasma cutter with 2 axis. I am new to this area about cnc mach3.
First of all, what is the best controller to use or what do you suggest and any advice.
How hard is it to program?
I am an electrical engineering student, I have knowledge about electronics.
Well, as a new field for me, I don't know where to start. Any manual that has helped you.

sincerely
E.
Re: tips for getting started with 2 axis plasma cutter
« Reply #1 on: January 22, 2023, 02:41:48 PM »
Hi,
if  you are new and do not yet have a license you should go with Mach4. All development on Mach3 ceased eight years ago, it works but whatever bugs it has it will always have.

https://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php?topic=42891.msg278176#msg278176

Mach4 all but requires an external motion controller, I'd recommend an Ethernet SmoothStepper (ESS). You need a breakout board to match, and for a simple machine
such as you are contemplating a single port (17 IOs) bidirectional C10 for $23.00 is good value or a two port (34 IOs) bidirectional C25 for $29.00 is good value also.
You may have to provide some very simple external circuitry, relays etc, but should be no problems. Or you could make a breakout board, this is one I made, all three ports (51IOs)
developed, all 24V tolerant, differential outputs for the servos (six axis), plus PWM, relay on/off for the spindle and electromagnetic brake output for the Z axis.

You'll soon want Torch Height Control, a plasma table without it is way less than ideal. Yes, I've heard it all before...' I don't need THC....I'll use X or Y or Z, I don't need THC'
and I call BS, every single one of them comes back to implementing THC